Union Square Kids Acquires Five New Mo Willems Books | News Bites

Union Square Kids has acquired five new Mo Willems books; new picture books by Willems and Ruby Bridges will publish on September 6, 2022; Nikki Grimes receives another award; "Surfside Girls" to become streaming series; and more in this edition of News Bites.

Union Square Kids has acquired five new Mo Willems books; new picture books by Willems and Ruby Bridges will publish on September 6, 2022; Nikki Grimes receives another award; Surfside Girls comes to become streaming series; and more in this edition of News Bites.

Union Square Kids Will Publish Five New Mo Willems Books

Union Square Kids, an imprint of book publisher Union Square & Co., announced that it has acquired five new books from author and illustrator Mo Willems, starting with The Pigeon Will Ride the Roller Coaster!, to be published September 6, 2022.

The Pigeon Will Ride the Roller Coaster! is the eighth picture book in the "Pigeon" collection, which has sold more than six million copies in North America and been translated into 20 languages.

The five-book deal is for US, Canadian, and UK rights.

Scholastic to publish I Am Ruby Bridges picture book

I Am Ruby Bridges, a new picture book by civil rights icon Ruby Bridges and illustrated by Nikkolas Smith, will be published by Scholastic on September 6, 2022. The title marks the first time that Bridges shares her story from the perspective of her six-year-old self, when she became the first Black student to desegregate the all-white William Frantz Elementary school in Louisiana. 

I Am Ruby Bridges is my most personal book yet,” Bridges said in a statement. “It’s not just about my experience integrating schools. It’s also about the innocent ways that a child sees the world. Writing as my six-year-old self reminded me how differently kids interpret things than adults do. Children are much better at finding humor in everything, and even in times of great challenge, that’s what this book really does. It allows young kids to learn history in a fun way, which is something that I’m very passionate about.”

WNDB looking for Walter judges

We Need Diverse Books is building its 2023 Walter Awards judging committee. Judges will read submissions and select our next winners and honorees. They will also receive a travel stipend and a free one-night hotel stay to attend the 2023 Walter Awards event in Washington, DC.

If interested, send a resume to info@diversebooks.org. Diverse librarians and educators are encouraged to submit. WNDB recognizes all diverse experiences, including (but not limited to) LGBTQIA, Native, people of color, gender diversity, people with disabilities, and ethnic, cultural, and religious minorities.

Nikki Grimes to receive 2022 Anne V. Zarrow Award for Young Readers’ Literature

Author Nikki Grimes is the winner of the Tulsa Library Trust’s 2022 Anne V. Zarrow Award for Young Readers’ Literature. Grimes started writing poetry at age six and has since received over a dozen awards for her fiction, nonfiction, and poetry books for elementary, middle-grade, and young adult readers. 

The Anne V. Zarrow Award for Young Readers’ Literature gives recognizes, on behalf of the Tulsa County community, to a nationally acclaimed author who has made a significant contribution to the field of literature for young adults. The winner of the award, presented by the Tulsa Library Trust, receives a $10,000 cash prize and an engraved crystal book.

Past winners include: Jason Reynolds (2021), Katherine Applegate (2020), Rita Williams-Garcia (2019), Pam Muñoz Ryan (2018), Laurie Halse Anderson (2017), Gordon Korman (2016), Sharon Draper (2015), Jack Gantos (2014), Jim Murphy (2013), and Jacqueline Woodson (2012), among others.

Surfside Girls coming to Apple TV

Apple TV+ has ordered a 10-episode, live-action series of Kim Dwinell's middle grade graphic novel series Surfside Girls. The adventure series about two friends trying to save their town will star Miya Cech as Jade and YaYa Gosselin as Sam

IMLS accepting Native Hawaiian and Native American grants

The Institute of Museum and Library Services is now accepting applications for Native Hawaiian Library Services and Native American Library Services Enhancement grants. The deadline for submitting applications is April 1.

Native Hawaiian Library Services grants of up to $150,000 for two years are awarded to improve core library services for their communities. They are available to nonprofit organizations that primarily serve and represent Native Hawaiians. Native American Library Services Enhancement, which is also up to $150,000 for two years, will be given to advance the programs and services of eligible Indian tribes, including Alaska Native villages, regional corporations, and village corporations. 

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.
Sorry !!! Your comment is not submited properly Or you left some fields empty. Please check with your admin



We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing