Marvelous Read-Alikes for WandaVision

Marvelous Read-Alikes for WandaVision

The latest Marvel installment has appeal that expands beyond fans of the Marvel Universe, and these read-alike titles will, too.

EXPLORE SLJ

Five Debut YA Authors Make Readers Feel Something

Melanie Kletter, May 04, 2021
Five debut authors tell SLJ about creating funny, joyful, and serious stories, and their hope that young people take pride in who they are.

A Seat at the Table | Soapbox

K.C. Boyd, Apr 28, 2021
K.C. Boyd describes how her positive mindset in the face of adversity is rooted in ongoing work, including advocacy for school libraries at the national level.

5 Tips for Starting a Nonfiction Book Club for Kids

Melissa Stewart, May 03, 2021
Many schools and libraries host fiction-focused book clubs, but it’s important to keep young info-lovers in mind, too. If a nonfiction book club seems like a good fit for the children at your school, why not give it a try. Here are some tips for getting started.

News Literacy for Elementary Learners

Tom Bober, Apr 26, 2021
Older students aren't the only ones who consume news. Elementary schoolers see and hear news too, and need age-appropriate lessons to understand the sources and information.

April Witteveen, Nov 02, 2020
The survey showed school librarians using creative approaches to deliver superior library services, leading on tech innovation, collaborating with colleagues, and strengthening relationships with students.

SLJ Staff, Apr 23, 2020
When it comes to a schedule for school from home, how does it compare to the traditional schedule and curriculum? It's a mix, according to School Library Journal's survey of  K-12 librarians, fielded from April 2 to April 12.

SLJ staff, Apr 23, 2020
When it comes to getting materials returned to the library, most librarians don't appear all that concerned, found School Library Journal's survey. In fact, 48 percent haven't made a plan for that.

 

Kathy Ishizuka, Dec 03, 2020
In an unprecedented year, managing the pandemic dominated attention. SLJ covered the gamut, from publisher policies adjusted to accommodate remote learning, to tips on running a virtual book club for middle schoolers. Despite all, fostering literacy and celebrating great books persisted as key topics of interest for our readers.

One in four kids tuned in to a podcast in 2020, drawn to stories and discussions about the coronavirus, money, activism, racial justice, and other topics.

SLJ Staff, Feb 28, 2020
The discussions in the spring set of free, one-hour professional development programs will tackle serving striving readers, information inequity, and news literacy.

 

SLJ Staff, Jan 31, 2019
On the Diverse Books Survey page, users can access related content, newly updated, as well as our Diverse Books Survey report.

Kara Yorio, Oct 24, 2018
While in the minority, the SLJ Diverse Books Survey reveals some librarians are declining to purchase books with diverse characters to avoid a challenge.

One school library's Graffiti Books program lets students connect and have "conversations" by writing in books. It also keeps some previously weeded titles in the stacks.

SLJ Staff, Jan 06, 2021
These engaging picture book biographies spotlight two influential Black female tennis players: Althea Gibson and Serena Williams.

Whether you are a media specialist seeking excellent additions to your collection or titles to recommend, or an educator seeking gold for both remote and in-person learning, you’ll find plenty of options here, with accurate and authentic books by and about Native Americans and First Nations people.

Twenty-four exceptional titles made SLJ's list of the best picture books published in 2020.

Twenty-five outstanding works made SLJ's list of the best middle grade books published in 2020. 

Fifteen books made SLJ's list of the best graphic novels for children and teens published in 2020. 

Marva Hinton, Jan 12, 2021
More time, less social pressure, and more flexible scheduling has helped some kids flourish.

Amanda MacGregor, Jan 04, 2021
Some educators abandon teaching the Bard's work, while others update and enhance Shakespeare curricula.

Amanda MacGregor, Jan 04, 2021
From a choose-your-own-path Romeo and Juliet to a Macbeth retelling that channels #MeToo, there's something here for all teen readers and fans of the Bard. 

Brigid Alverson, Feb 17, 2021
From fantasy to more realistic stories, these diverse works update classic coming out narratives and focus on self-discovery.

Brigid Alverson, Nov 30, 2020
Latinx creators have been receiving more recognition in recent years, and there is now a flourishing Latinx comics scene that includes a strong body of work for young people.

Brigid Alverson, Jan 21, 2021
Isekai manga are some of the wildest fantasy stories on bookshelves right now. What are they? And which titles are must-haves for your collection?

Brigid Alverson, Jan 14, 2021
Flash Facts is a new collection of short comics about science and technology featuring DC superheroes. Here's an exclusive preview of "Home Sweet Space" with Supergirl, written by Cecil Castellucci.

Brigid Alverson, Jan 18, 2021
Guest writer Martha Cornog offers a varied list of graphic novels with Black protagonists

The post Graphic Novels with Black Protagonists appeared first on Good Comics for Kids.

SLJ staff, Nov 10, 2020
Fans of Nathan Hale can cross the country alongside the best-selling author this month. With stops from Boston to Honolulu, the virtual tour celebrates Blades of Freedombook 10 in Hale’s "Hazardous Tales" series of graphic novels.

Moni Barrette, Jan 06, 2021
The term graphic medicine was coined by Dr. Ian Williams—comics artist, physician, and editor of graphicmedicine.org—to “denote the role that comics can play in the study and delivery of healthcare.”

The post Graphic Medicine for Kids & Teens appeared first on Good Comics for Kids.

Oct 01, 2020
Renée Watson, Feb 09, 2021
In the summer of 2020, a time of tragedy and activism throughout the country, Black teens were still falling in love and discovering their relationships to the world...and Renée Watson was working on a book about radical self-love and a Black girl saving herself. Here she writes about finding joy amid pain and how love can be a personal revolution.

Kathy Ishizuka, Dec 17, 2020
Curricular bazaar Teachers Pay Teachers has never been more popular. But questions about quality, cultural insensitivity, and plagiarism beg expert guidance. Consider your librarian.  

Amanda MacGregor, Feb 16, 2021
The author of The Project discusses false assumptions about cult members, the truths of surviving trauma, and how this “crossover” book really is YA.

Parrish Turner, Feb 22, 2021
Parrish Turner, a transgender sensitivity reader, is tired of the tropes surrounding animal stories, particularly those involving the wish to be a different animal. For Parrish, the longing to be a more authentic version of oneself is all too human.

Kathy Ishizuka, Dec 03, 2020
Our most viewed stories reflect a significant, collective journey. 

Moni Barrette, Oct 01, 2020
“Honestly, I think learning loss is the least of our worries. It’s essential to give them space to talk about how they are feeling. If things are falling apart, we have to take care of them rather than push on with a lesson.” —”In This Together: School Librarians Help Address Learning Loss, Upheaval,” SLJ It’s […]

The post You’re Not Alone in Feeling Alone appeared first on Good Comics for Kids.

Miles McKenna, Nov 02, 2020
Miles McKenna, actor and author of Out!: How To Be Your Authentic Self (Abrams/Amulet; Gr 8 Up) reflects on his childhood love of reading and J.K. Rowling's recent anti-transgender social media posts.

Amanda MacGregor, Dec 03, 2020
Pinguicha urges readers to question history, ask who wrote the stories, and present and amplify the narratives that have been ignored, hidden, and distorted.

The post Questioning Your History Lessons, a guest post by Diana Pinguicha appeared first on Teen Librarian Toolbox.

PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT

ONLINE COURSES

Designing for a Flexible Future

May 05, 2021 to May 19, 2020

ONLINE COURSES

Public Programming in the Pandemic

Mar 23 to Apr 06, 2021

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?