2024 Eisner Award Nominations Announced

National Book Award winner A First Time For Everything by Dan Santat and  Sunshine by Jarrett J. Krosoczka are among the many children's literature titles nominated for the 2024 Eisner Awards.

The nominations for the 2024 Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards have been announced and the honorees include many children's literature titles. Three of the 32 categories specifically spotlight work for child and young adult readers.

In Best Publication for Early Readers, the nominees are Bigfoot and Nessie: The Art of Getting Noticed by Chelsea M. Campbell and Laura Knetzger (Penguin Workshop/Penguin Random House); Burt the Beetle Lives Here! by Ashley Spires (Kids Can Press); Go-Go Guys by Rowboat Watkins (Chronicle Books); The Light Inside by Dan Misdea (Penguin Workshop/Penguin Random House); Milk and Mocha: Our Little Happiness by Melani Sie (Andrews McMeel); and Tacos Today: El Toro & Friends by Raúl the Third (HarperCollins/Versify).

Best Publication for Kids:  Buzzing by Samuel Sattin and Rye Hickman (Little, Brown Ink); Mabuhay! by Zachary Sterling (Scholastic Graphix); Mexikid: A Graphic Memoir by Pedro Martín (Dial/Penguin Young Readers); Missing You by Phellip Willian and Melissa Garabeli. translation by Fabio Ramos (Oni Press); and Saving Sunshine by Saadia Faruqi and Shazleen Khan (First Second/Macmillan).

Best Publication for Teens: Blackward by Lawrence Lindell (Drawn & Quarterly); Danger and Other Unknown Risks by Ryan North and Erica Henderson (Penguin Workshop/Penguin Random House); Frontera by Julio Anta and Jacoby Salcedo (HarperAlley); Lights by Brenna Thummler (Oni Press); Monstrous: A Transracial Adoption Story by Sarah Myer (First Second/Macmillan); and My Girlfriend’s Child, vol. 1 by Mamoru Aoi, translation by Hana Allen (Seven Seas).

But kid lit's honors weren't limited to those youth-specific categories. All of the titles nominated for Best Graphic Memoir are for non-adult readers: Family Style: Memories of an American from Vietnam by Thien Pham (First Second/Macmillan); A First Time for Everything by Dan Santat (First Second/Macmillan); In Limbo by Deb JJ Lee (First Second/Macmillan); Memento Mori by Tiitu Takalo, translation by Maria Schroderus (Oni Press); Sunshine: How One Camp Taught Me About Life, Death, and Hope by Jarrett J. Krosoczka (Scholastic Graphix): and The Talk by Darrin Bell (Henry Holt).

Best Adaptation from Another Medium included Bea Wolf, adapted by Zach Weinersmith and Boulet (First Second/Macmillan) and Watership Down by Richard Adams, adapted by James Sturm and Joe Sutphin (Ten Speed Graphic).

Professionals within the comic book industry are eligible to vote for winners. The trophies will be presented to the winners at San Diego Comic-Com on July 26.

Read the full announcement below.


Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.



We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing