2024 Ezra Jack Keats Awards Announced

The Writer Award winner is Anne Wynter for Nell Plants a Tree. Sarah Gonzales won the Illustrator Award for The Only Way to Make Bread.

The Ezra Jack Keats Foundation, in partnership with the de Grummond Children’s Literature Collection at the University of Southern Mississippi, has announced the 2024 Ezra Jack Keats Award winners.  The annual award is given to early career authors and illustrators for excellence in portraying the multicultural nature of the world.

The Writer Award winner is Anne Wynter for Nell Plants a Tree.

The Illustrator Award goes to Sarah Gonzales for The Only Way to Make Bread.

There were two Writer Award Honors: Kim Rogers for Just Like Grandma and Helena Ku Rhee for Sora’s Seashells.

The two Illustrator Award Honors went to Fran Alvarez for Dancing Hands and Beatriz Gutierrez Hernandez for Benito Juárez Fights for Justice.

Read the full press release below.


Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.



We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing