FICTION

When You Ask Me Where I’m Going

Harper/HarperCollins/. Oct. 2019. 256p. Tr $18.99. ISBN 9780062912619.
COPY ISBN
Gr 9 Up–A collection of poetry, prose, and illustrations surrounding the daily realities of what it’s like to be a young woman in a world that doesn’t always understand her. With six sections that highlight the multitude of conversations many women battle daily, this collection’s pages are painted with the topics of mental health, sexual assault, immigration, and feminism. Ultimately, the collection takes readers on a journey to fight for others, for family, and especially for themselves. Kaur’s elegant and informative poetry and prose packs a powerful punch. Broken into six parts themed as a journey across the body (“skin,” “muscle,” “lung,” “nerve,” “heart,” and “light”), the mixed literary styles open a window into the world of being young and a woman in an unforgiving world. This isn’t one continual story unfolding, but rather a string of experiences and thoughts that speaks strongly to women of color, undocumented immigrants, and those who are hurting. The gentle words empathize with and encourage readers, uplifting the soul, and praising every woman’s spirit: “a note to self/you are worth every moment/that led you to yourself/you’re the one i’d choose/every single time.”
VERDICT Fans of Joy McCullough’s Blood Water Paint or Elizabeth Acevedo’s The Poet X will want this collection on their shelves.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.