FICTION

We Hunt the Flame

480p. (Sands of Arawiya: Bk. 1). Farrar. May 2019. Tr $18.99. ISBN 9780374311544.
COPY ISBN

Gr 9 Up–Once Arawiya was ruled by the Six Sisters of Old, who filled the lands with magic and peace until they disappeared, taking magic with them. Today it is a divided land where misogyny reigns—headed by a Sultan determined to rule all of the lands himself. Zafira lives her life on the fringes as The Hunter of the Arz, a terrifying forest no one would dare to penetrate. She must hunt to feed her village, and if she is discovered as a woman, her life will be over. Nasir is an assassin, forced to kill for his father, the corrupt Sultan. When the Silver Witch presents Zafira with a quest to bring magic back to her people, she takes it. Nasir, the Prince of Death himself, is tasked to capture her and steal the artifact for his father even if his heart is conflicted. Lyrical and filled with adventure, a slow-burn romance, and an unforgettable cast of characters in a world based on ancient Arabia, this is a debut series not to be missed.

VERDICT Fans of Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember in the Ashes and Tomi Adeyemi’s Children of Blood and Bone should get excited for their next obsession.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.