BOOKS
The Storm Runner
448p. Disney-Hyperion. Sept. 2018. Tr $16.99. ISBN 9781368016346. POP
COPY ISBN
OrangeReviewStarGr 4–8—Zane Obispo has a pretty sweet life: a mom who loves him; his fun, wrestling-loving Uncle Hondo; eccentric, caring neighbors; a loyal dog; and his very own backyard volcano. The downside is he'll be starting a new school, where he knows kids will make fun of his limp and his cane. When Zane and his dog Rosie discover a secret entrance to the volcano, Zane has no idea they've just put an ancient prophecy into motion, one that features him as a main player. Soon he meets a shape-shifter named Brooks who tells Zane that not only is Zane supernatural, but it is foretold that he plays a role in releasing Ah-Puch—the Mayan god of death, disaster, and darkness—from his prison in the volcano. Zane learns that there is more truth to the myths in his Mayan book than he ever imagined and that his father—whom he has never know—is also a major part of the prophecy. Zane sets off a chain of events that bring him closer to the truth about his ancestry and show him a world he thought only existed in books. Fantastic and villainous creatures from Mayan folklore combine with clever, realistic, and heartwarming characters.
VERDICT A page-turning and well-written trip into the world of Mayan mythology, perfect for fans of David Bowles's Garza "Twins" and Rick Riordan's "Percy Jackson" series.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.

RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.