ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?
FICTION

The Stitchers

Abrams/Amulet. (Fright Watch: Bk. 1). Aug. 2020. 272p. Tr $16.99. ISBN 9781419746925.
COPY ISBN
Gr 5 Up–Something strange is happening on Goodie Lane, and 13-year-old Quinn Parker is on the case. She and her police officer father had myriad theories about “the Oldies” on the cul-de-sac—neighbors who only seem to get younger and spryer with time—but now that he’s dead, Quinn’s taken to secretly investigating with the help of her neighbor, Mike Warren. As summer vacation approaches, things quickly take a turn for the dark and sinister. Will Quinn and Mike be able to solve the mystery of Goodie Lane before the Oldies can stop them? This debut thriller is certain to leave readers eager for a good scare wanting more, which is perfect considering it’s the first in a new series. While Quinn’s theories range from vampires to mad scientists (not as far off as one might think), her seeming flights of fancy are tempered by Mike’s scientific mind, giving the story a more realistic feel. And while a budding romance between the two is hinted at, this element is secondary and sweetly innocent. Mike is Black; all other characters present as white.
VERDICT A truly creepy read, perfect for fans of “Goosebumps” and Stranger Things. Recommended purchase.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED