ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?
FICTION

Rory Branagan: Detective

Penguin Workshop. (Rory Branagan: Detective: Bk. 1). Jan. 2020. 352p. pap. $9.99. ISBN 9781524793647.
COPY ISBN
Gr 1-4–This first entry in a hilarious new mystery series is one that young readers won’t want to miss. Three years ago, Rory’s father went missing. Rory’s mom is keeping secrets, and he has hardly any information to go on. Rory, aided by his friend Cassidy, begins to gather evidence to crack open the case. The pairs’ detective work takes a new turn when a family down the street starts to experience a mystery of their own. Working as a team and using their observation skills will be key in uncovering what really happened to Rory’s father. Readers new to chapter books will be ecstatic to read and hold such a big book. The excitement of growing as a reader will be evident the moment they pick up this title. The humor and mystery themes will engage even the most reluctant readers. Each chapter builds on the next, incorporating laugh-out-loud moments while placing clues to solve the mystery.
VERDICT A new detective series that will have readers laughing out loud and coming back for book two. Fans of Tom Watson’s “Stick Dog” or Betty G. Birney’s “The World According to Humphrey” series will jump right into this title. A delightful addition to elementary library collections.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED