BOOKS
Just Wreck It All
336p. S. & S./Atheneum. Oct. 2018. Tr $18.99. ISBN 9781481465182.
COPY ISBN
Gr 7 Up—Bett used to be known for being a daredevil. There wasn't a challenge she would back down from. She and her best friend, Stephanie, became experts at dreaming up the next physical obstacle for her to conquer. Suddenly, Bett's entire world is upended. A terrible accident is the catalyst to a dramatic change. She has lost hearing in her left ear and her self-confidence. She becomes withdrawn and stops engaging in the physical activities she once loved so passionately. Her father has left her family for another woman. To make matters worse, her high school is being terrorized by a vandal, leaving everyone scared and on edge. Bett's struggles with reclaiming her identity after personal upheaval are messy, heartrending, and leave readers unable to turn away. Her disconnect between how she thinks others feel about her and the reality is something any teen will relate to. She struggles with the relationship she has with herself as well as with those around her, most notably with her father. Ultimately, Bett realizes healing any relationship has to start with herself. The beginning of the book flips between past and present, keeping the pace moving with bread crumbs leading to the accident.
VERDICT A heartfelt journey through the importance of self-love and forgiveness, perfect for fans of Sara Zarr and Gayle Forman.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.

RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.