BOOKS

Jonesy: Vol. 1

illus. by Caitlin Rose Boyle & Mickey Quinn. 112p. ebook available. Boom! Studios. Oct. 2016. pap. $9.99. ISBN 9781608868834.
COPY ISBN
Gr 6 Up—This volume collects the first four issues of the colorful comic. Jonesy is a self-described "cool dork," who makes zines that nobody reads, watches anime, and listens to riot grrrl bands. She has also recently discovered that she has the power to make others fall in love. The teen uses her abilities to varying effect, often leaving chaos in her wake. In the first issue, she receives a white flower instead of the much-sought-after pink flowers on Valentine's Day. Popular girl Susan makes fun of her, and after some advice from her abuelita, Jonesy decides to get even. Eventually, the two frenemies become true friends, especially as the title character tries to get the girl Susan is crushing on to love her back. The secondary characters, such as Jonesy's doughnut-making, joke-cracking father and her relentless, not-so-clueless principal, are memorable. The absurd stories are reminiscent of the high jinks—filled classic "Archie" comics, and the Technicolor art, filled with hearts and magenta-tinged hues, elevates the comical but sometimes cheesy narrative. While this has the makings of a fun series and the intersectionality of the protagonists will resonate with readers, the book sometimes straddles the line between mocking and paying homage to adolescent girls. Still, the heroine, with her voluminous hair and baggy clothes, is an unforgettable, highly expressive, and mostly charming protagonist.
VERDICT Fans of Adventure Time, Steven Universe, and "Lumberjanes" will gravitate to the rambunctious, star-crossed Jonesy. A general purchase for most YA and upper middle grade graphic novel collections.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.