FICTION

Infinity Son

HarperTeen. (Infinity Cycle: Bk. 1). Jan. 2020. 368p. Tr $18.99. ISBN 9780062457820. POP.
COPY ISBN
Gr 9 Up–In a departure from contemporary fiction, Silvera has created an exciting fantasy series opener about two very different Latinx twin brothers. Brighton, vlogger and superhero fan, hopes he’ll evince celestial powers on his 18th birthday. His queer, fantasy-loving brother Emil prays they don’t materialize in him. In this Bronx setting, where phoenixes are reborn and hydra and ghosts exist, celestial Spell Walker heroes battle evil alchemist Blood Casters. Both sides include a handful of young people with unique magical abilities. Villainous specters steal blood from celestials to re-create their power. Enforcers hunt down both specters and Blood Casters. Spell Walkers aren’t universally loved and are being persecuted, particularly by presidential nominee Senator Irons. He holds Maribelle and the Spell Walkers responsible for the deaths of his wife and son. In a twist on the Chosen One trope, it’s Emil’s powers, not Brighton’s, that manifest, but they’re specter powers, not celestial. Brighton is jealous and vows to prove himself worthy, too. Bloodthirsty Luna, the Blood Casters’ leader, seeks legendary Reaper’s Blood to try to achieve immortality, as the Spell Walkers try to stop her. Despite the book’s many characters, it’s easy to keep everyone straight. Four characters narrate different chapters, allowing readers access to multiple points of view.
VERDICT Fans of Cassandra Clare, Mackenzie Lee’s Loki, Brandon Sanderson’s Steelheart, Kiersten White’s Slayer and Marissa Meyer’s “Renegades” series will love this magical book that embodies it all: romance, heartbreak, deceit, shifting loyalties, revenge, power struggles, violence, and complicated origin stories.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.