FICTION

Forest of Souls

Page St. Jun. 2020. 400p. Tr $18.99. ISBN 9781624149245.
COPY ISBN
Gr 7-10–Sirscha is an orphan with nothing going for her but her friendship with Saengo, and her aspirations to become the queen’s next spy. When she and Saengo are caught up in a shaman attack, Sirscha demonstrates what no one knew: she has magic, too. The queen, however, has outlawed the practice of magic, making Sirscha and Saengo fugitives. Together, they travel through the Spider King’s forest of bloodthirsty trees holding trapped souls so that Sirscha can learn to use her magic. But as Sirscha explores the limits of her power, she also learns that others—from the Spider King, to her own queen, to even the common people desperately looking to survive—are eager to use her power for their own ends. Ultimately, Sirscha must navigate political intrigue within and beyond her own kingdom, and uncover dark secrets and dark magic, if she hopes to bring about any sort of peace or justice.
VERDICT Lee is a masterful world-builder, creating intriguing scenarios and a compelling cast of characters, anchored by the strong portrayals of female friendship. For fans of Natasha Ngan and Joan He, and for any high fantasy collection.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Community matters. Stay up to date on breaking news, trends, reviews, and more.

Get access to 6000+ annual reviews of books, databases, and more

As low as $12/month