FICTION
Fake It Till You Break It
Swoon Reads Feiwel & Friends/. May 2019. 304p. Tr $17.99. ISBN 9781250308016.
COPY ISBN

Gr 7 Up–Mia and Jake have known each other their whole lives, going to everything from dentist appointments to Saturday dim sum trips together with their mothers. Now that they’re older, their mothers think they would make the perfect couple, but there’s one problem: Mia and Jake can’t stand each other. After yet another of their mothers’ schemes, Mia and Jake concoct a plan of their own to get their mothers to drop the idea for good: they will date, and then they’ll stage a dramatic breakup so that their mothers see what a terrible idea it’s been from the beginning. At first, it seems to work well, and Mia is excited to finally be able to date someone who isn’t Jake without her mother making a fuss. But then things start to feel strange; Mia and Jake wonder if their mothers were right all along. To make matters worse, Mia has started dating someone else even before their fake breakup. Now everything seems hopelessly complicated and neither Mia nor Jake knows how to sort everything out. The book hits predictable plot points and is told in indistinguishable alternating viewpoints. Nevertheless, it is a cute, simple romance that will appeal to fans of Jenny Han and Sandhya Menon.

VERDICT While it’s refreshing to read a romance with an Asian American lead, this novel reworks old tropes with no new twists.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.