AUDIO

Emergency Contact

digital download. 9:06 hrs. S. & S. Audio. Mar. 2018. $17.99. ISBN 9781508246053. digital download.
COPY ISBN
Gr 9 Up—Narrators Joy Osmanski and Jacques Roy prove to be convincing partners in propelling two awkward misfits toward each other. Osmanski's Penny Lee is slightly detached. UT-Austin might be less than 80 miles away, but 18-year-old Penny imagines she's headed for a whole new world—literally, as she wants to hone her sci-fi writing skills. Roy takes on slightly older Sam, who happens to be Penny's new roommate's 21-year-old ex-uncle-by-marriage. Versatile Roy could be 20 or 40, just as Sam's falling-apart-life might suggest multiple ages, from college drop-out ex-boyfriend of Someone Kinda Famous to filmmaker-in-the-rough who's biding his time as an overqualified barista forced to sleep where he works. Penny and Sam's chance second meeting involving a panic attack results in their fatefully designating each another as "emergency contacts." Let the texting begin.
VERDICT Fans of Maurene Goo, Jenny Han, and Julie Murphy: get ready to listen in.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.