MEDIA
Emergency Contact
digital download. 9:06 hrs. S. & S. Audio. Mar. 2018. $17.99. ISBN 9781508246053. digital download.
COPY ISBN
Gr 9 Up—Narrators Joy Osmanski and Jacques Roy prove to be convincing partners in propelling two awkward misfits toward each other. Osmanski's Penny Lee is slightly detached. UT-Austin might be less than 80 miles away, but 18-year-old Penny imagines she's headed for a whole new world—literally, as she wants to hone her sci-fi writing skills. Roy takes on slightly older Sam, who happens to be Penny's new roommate's 21-year-old ex-uncle-by-marriage. Versatile Roy could be 20 or 40, just as Sam's falling-apart-life might suggest multiple ages, from college drop-out ex-boyfriend of Someone Kinda Famous to filmmaker-in-the-rough who's biding his time as an overqualified barista forced to sleep where he works. Penny and Sam's chance second meeting involving a panic attack results in their fatefully designating each another as "emergency contacts." Let the texting begin.
VERDICT Fans of Maurene Goo, Jenny Han, and Julie Murphy: get ready to listen in.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.