Authors Explore Jewish Identity

Authors Explore Jewish Identity

It's Jewish American Heritage Month, and SLJ spoke with authors about the importance of writing Jewish characters and stories.

EXPLORE SLJ

Good News for Fans of Charlotte Bronte: 6 Substitutes and Read-Alikes for 'Jane Eyre'

NCTE & SLJ Reviews, May 12, 2022
Still slugging it out with Jane's evil stepmother, her treacherous schooldays, and the love-him hate-him Rochester? NCTE & SLJ want to refresh the canon with some new favorites that supply some of what we love about Jane Eyre—gothic settings, independent heroes, atmospherics—but skip the mad wife in the attic.

Podcasts to Complement the Collaborative Summer Library Program Theme, “Oceans of Possibilities" | Kidcasts

Summer is a great time for kids to listen to podcasts, and libraries can direct them to ones they will enjoy.

More and More Manga: An Updated Primer on Japanese Comic Books and Graphic Novels

Brigid Alverson, May 12, 2022
New types of manga have proliferated—and students can’t get enough. This overview of genres, publishers, formats, and more, will help get you up to date.

A Starter Manga Set: 15 Titles for Children and Tweens

Brigid Alverson, May 13, 2022
From “Pokémon” to “Snow White with the Red Hair,” there’s something here for every budding manga fan.

Jan 11, 2022
SLJ celebrates the 100th anniversary of the award with an array of feature coverage and a series of interviews with Newbery greats.

Jennifer Snelling, Feb 18, 2022
Creative and fun ways to use Clubhouse, Flipgrid, Green Screen, and more tools with students and teachers. 

SLJ Staff, Feb 24, 2022
A recent CBS News/YouGov poll showed Americans do not support removing books about race from schools and believe that students should be taught the history of race and racism in the United States.

SLJ staff, Jan 19, 2022
Those dreaded summer reading lists. For eons, teachers have been handing out assigned reading, mostly comprised of old “classics.” With this survey, SLJ and NCTE invite teachers and librarians to choose the titles you’d like culled from required reading and those books you would urge students to read instead.

Marva Hinton, Nov 01, 2021
Battling threats to library funding and positions and educating the community on the value of librarians often becomes like a second job, taking up nights and weekends with conversations, events, and social media posts. 

SLJ Staff, Jan 31, 2019
On the Diverse Books Survey page, users can access related content, newly updated, as well as our Diverse Books Survey report.

Kara Yorio, Oct 24, 2018
While in the minority, the SLJ Diverse Books Survey reveals some librarians are declining to purchase books with diverse characters to avoid a challenge.

Terry Hong, May 05, 2022
Titles for all ages by APA creators. 

NCTE & SLJ Reviews, May 12, 2022
Still slugging it out with Jane's evil stepmother, her treacherous schooldays, and the love-him hate-him Rochester? NCTE & SLJ want to refresh the canon with some new favorites that supply some of what we love about Jane Eyre—gothic settings, independent heroes, atmospherics—but skip the mad wife in the attic.

SLJ Reviews, May 12, 2022
May is Jewish American Heritage Month, a time to remember and celebrate generations of Jewish Americans who helped shape American history and culture. Share these 29 titles that encompass the whole of the Jewish experience with your readers this month and all year long. 

NCTE & SLJ Reviews, May 10, 2022
These eight titles are great accompaniments to John Steinbeck's The Grapes of Wrath, as updated expansions on the novel's themes and its historical setting.

Mark Twain's books have been a part of U.S. American literary canon since their inception. Here are nine YA books that tackle similar themes, presenting stories full of tenacity. perseverance, and self-awareness. 

Amanda MacGregor, Mar 09, 2022
Not OK? That's OK. A reading list with diverse characters and authentic representation of mental health.

Abby Johnson, Feb 10, 2022
Hand these school capers to elementary and middle school kids who are excited about the show based on the Lincoln Peirce series.

The 2021 list of best middle grade books counts with 26 novels, including unforgettable works by Joseph Bruchac, Jasmine Warga, and Kate DiCamillo.

Amanda MacGregor, Jan 04, 2021
From a choose-your-own-path Romeo and Juliet to a Macbeth retelling that channels #MeToo, there's something here for all teen readers and fans of the Bard. 

Brigid Alverson, May 12, 2022
New types of manga have proliferated—and students can’t get enough. This overview of genres, publishers, formats, and more, will help get you up to date.

Brigid Alverson, May 13, 2022
From “Pokémon” to “Snow White with the Red Hair,” there’s something here for every budding manga fan.

Colleen Connolly, Apr 12, 2022
Graphic novel authors Kim Hyun Sook and Ryan Estrada, who wrote about Kim's experience in a banned book club in South Korea in the 1980s, now find their book relevant to U.S. students.

Brigid Alverson, Nov 12, 2021
A booklist, resources, and an interview with Sasha Bouché, editor at HighWater Press.

Abby Johnson, Jan 05, 2022
These elementary and middle-grade books channel the heart and humor of the new series based on Cece Bell's autobiographical Newbery Honor graphic novel.

Colleen Connolly, Apr 12, 2022
As adults try to pull books from school library shelves across the country, students are responding with book clubs centered on the challenged titles.

Amanda MacGregor, Apr 13, 2022
When a student asked for graphic novels about boys dealing with friendship, school, and life issues, he got me thinking.
Oct 01, 2020
Kathy Ishizuka, Mar 06, 2022
Alongside a national rise in censorship, we've received queries about our review process. For readers experiencing a challenge to a book or anticipating one, SLJ reviews editor Shelley Diaz and a panel covered the ins and outs of what we do.  

Kathy Ishizuka, Feb 03, 2022
Martha Hickson "is putting herself on the line and giving librarians strength to hold fast to their views and their values and push back against these attacks,” says Chris Finan, executive director of the National Coalition Against Censorship. 

Amanda MacGregor, Mar 02, 2022
Between Safe and Real wasn’t fun to write and it’s unlikely readers will think it’s fun to read, but I’m okay with that because I truly believe representation matters, even when it’s not fun.

The post Hope and Representation, a guest post by Dannie M. Olguin appeared first on Teen Librarian Toolbox.

Michele Shaw, Mar 01, 2022
Emma Otheguy speaks to SLJ about immigration, racism, and how ballet informs her craft in her latest title, Sofía Acosta Makes a Scene.

Luann Toth, Jan 04, 2022
The  celebrated Newbery Medal-winning author shares thoughts on the new wave of censorship in schools, her deep respect for librarians, and dancing hamburgers in The Giver.

Kathy Ishizuka, Jan 06, 2022
In the main, awards season will celebrate honored books and their creators. Yet such a high-profile occasion presents a unique opportunity to celebrate and honor, too, the right of kids and teens to read and access content.

SLJ Staff, Oct 26, 2021
When a video of a woman speaking out against the book Out of Darkness at a school board meeting went viral, author Ashley Hope Pérez responded with a video of her own.

Amanda MacGregor, Mar 03, 2022
A Thousand Steps into Night started with a seemingly straightforward idea: A girl is cursed to turn into a monster. But what makes a monster? Maybe there's power in being a monster. Maybe it's worth it.

The post What Makes a Monster? A guest post by Traci Chee appeared first on Teen Librarian Toolbox.

PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT

ONLINE COURSES

360° Engagement

Jun 07 to Jun 21, 2022

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?