We Need Diverse Books Announces 2019 Walter Awards Winners

The Poet X and Ghost Boys are winners of the 2019 Walter Dean Myers Awards for Outstanding Children's Literature.

The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo and Ghost Boys by Jewell Parker Rhodes are the winners of the 2019 Walter Dean Myers Awards for Outstanding Children's Literature, We Need Diverse Books announced Monday. The award, given in two categories—teen and young readers—recognizes titles by diverse authors that "feature diverse main characters and address diversity in a meaningful way." Two Honors Books were named in each category as well.

Read the full press release below:



Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.



We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing