Four Read-Alikes for Sleuths Watching "Enola Holmes" on Netflix

Hand these mysteries to fans of the streaming movie about Sherlock's younger sister, adapted from the middle grade series by Nancy Springer.

Enola Holmes

Netflix | PG-13 | Streaming now.

This Netflix film adaptation of the middle grade series by Nancy Springer stars Sherlock Holmes’s little sister, who is determined to solve the mystery of her missing mother.

READ-ALIKES

Shirley & Jamila Save Their Summer. Gillian Goerz. Dial. 2020.
Gr 3-6–Shirley, white, and Jamila, a brown-skinned Muslim girl, meet at a neighborhood garage sale and start solving crimes in this fast-paced graphic novel. Set in contemporary Canada, this comic balances a friendship story with enough mystery to please fans of girl detectives.

Murder Is Bad Manners. Robin Stevens. S. & S. 2015.
Gr 4-7–Hazel Wong, who has moved from Hong Kong to England to attend a British boarding school, and her white classmate Daisy Wells start a two-girl detective agency. It’s all fun and games, until Hazel discovers the body of their science teacher in the gym. With its 1930s setting and strong girl leads, this will appeal to fans of period pieces and female sleuths.

Unstoppable Octobia May. Sharon Flake. Scholastic. 2014.
Gr 4-7–Octobia May, an African American girl, is convinced that the new tenant in her aunt’s boardinghouse is a vampire in this page-turning mystery set in the 1950s. Readers who enjoy the spirited escapades of Enola will be drawn to spunky Octobia May, too.

The Ruby in the Smoke. Philip Pullman. Knopf. 1985.
Gr 7 Up–Sixteen-year-old white orphan Sally Lockhart gets entangled in a mystery when she learns about a hidden fortune her late father left for her. Readers who appreciate feisty heroines, adventures, and 19th-century London settings should give this mystery and other books in the trilogy a try.


Abby Johnson is the collection development leader at the Floyd County (IN) Library.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?