2019 Morris Award Finalists Announced

YALSA names finalists for best YA book by a previously unpublished author.

The Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) named the five finalists for the 2019 William C. Morris Award, which honors the year's best YA book by a previously unpublished author.

The finalists are:

Blood Water Paint by Joy McCullough

Check, Please!: #Hockey written and illustrated by Ngozi Ukazu

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

Darius the Great Is Not Okay by Adib Khorram

What the Night Sings written and illustrated by Vesper Stamper

The winner will be named American Library Association’s Midwinter Meeting on January 28 during the Youth Media Award announcements.


See the full press release below:



Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


Community matters. Stay up to date on breaking news, trends, reviews, and more.

Get access to 6000+ annual reviews of books, databases, and more

As low as $12/month