2019 CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals Announced

Elizabeth Acevedo earns another honor for The Poet X, as the winners of the 2019 CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals were announced.

The winners of the 2019 CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals were announced on Monday, June 17.

Elizabeth Acevedo  won the Carnegie Medal for writing for The Poet Xthe 2018 National Book Award and 2019 Printz winner. She is the first writer of color to win the Carnegie Medal in its 83-year history.

Jackie Morris won the Kate Greenaway Medal for illustration for The Lost Words by Robert Macfarlane.

It was the first time in the history of the awards—the UK’s oldest book awards for children and young people—that both winning titles were written in verse.

Read the full press release below.


Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


Community matters. Stay up to date on breaking news, trends, reviews, and more.

Get access to 6000+ annual reviews of books, databases, and more

As low as $12/month