February 25, 2018

The Advocate's Toolbox

Take 5: Five Reasons You Should Read THE 57 BUS by Dashka Slater, seriously right now

I don’t typically read a lot of nonfiction, but I was blown away by The 57 Bus, which I stumbled onto by accident. I’m part of a book club and this Christmas, we played some book exchange game where everyone brought a book and we traded and what not. The 57 Bus was hands down […]

YA A to Z: Classic Hollywood in YA Literature, a guest post by Lisa Clark

Today for the letter C, librarian Lisa Clark is talking about Classic Hollywood in YA Literature. When I was in grade school, my dad showed me the 1950 movie Harvey starring James Stewart. From that moment, I was enamored with Old Hollywood. With a certain charm and innocence to them, these movies are classics for […]

Things I Never Learned in Library School: Toxic Masculinity and Teaching Boys to Accept No for an Answer, Even in Our Libraries

The first time I ever learned what can happen when you tell a boy no and was afraid, I was a Sophomore in high school. A friend has asked me out and I told him no, I didn’t have those types of feelings for him. Later that night I did go out on a date, […]

Sunday Reflections: When Adults Fail, the Teens will Save Themselves

On February 14th, there was another school shooting. This was the 18th school shooting in 2018 and 17 people were sadly and tragically taken from this mortal coil too soon. But this school shooting, or more precisely what is happening after this school shooting, is different. This time, teens are stepping up to the microphone […]

YA A to Z: Top 10 CHARMING Characters in YA, a guest post by author Amber Hart

Here we are in Febrauary, so we’re on the letters C and D for the YA A to Z project. Today, author Amber Hart is sharing some charming characters from YA with us. The 2018 TLT Project: YA A to Z My favorite characters in YA often have the type of personality that leaps off […]

Collecting Comics: February 2018 by Ally Watkins

Happy February! Here are some comics and graphic novels that your teens and tweens will be asking for this month. Speak: The Graphic Novel by Laurie Halse Anderson, illustrated by Emily Carroll (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, February 6). This is a graphic novel adaptation of the award-winning novel Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson. Melinda is […]

YA A to Z: Best Frenemies to Lovers in YA, a guest post by author Molly E. Lee

This YA A to Z post on Best Frenemies, is a little bit late for the letter B (I missed some letters, sorry), but it’s the perfect pre-Valentine’s day post. The 2018 TLT Project: YA A to Z Best Frenemies to Lovers in YA I’m so excited to be here at the Teen Librarian Toolbox […]

Sexual Harassment in KidLit

As a librarian, I don’t often feel genuinely a part of kid or yalit. I’m not an author. I’m not a publisher. I’m not an agent or an editor. But I am someone who regularly talks about books and puts them into the hands of kids and teens. So these last few days, I have […]

#YAAtoZ: Consent in YA, a guest post by author Sara Baysinger

Welcome to February, where we are discussing the letters C and D as part of the #YAAtoZ Project. Today we’re talking consent with author Sara Baysinger. For a complete look at the #YAAtoZ posts, go here. Consent. It’s a loaded word with crystal clear meaning, yet somehow the lines still get blurred for *certain* people […]

The Quest for Good YA Publishing Statistics

Searching for Good YA Publishing Statistics// So I am currently working on doing some hardcore YA collection data analysis for my library. In addition to looking at what we have and how much it circulates, I was curious to know how much YA is published yearly to get a better idea of our YA collection […]

Asian American Voices in Young Adult Literature, a #YAAtoZ guest post by Kristyn Dorfman

Today for YA A to Z we are delighted to present with you a discussion of Asian American Voices in YA Literature by library Kristyn Dorfman. The need for diverse narratives has always been important but that has not always been apparent in the books we see published. Now, finally, diverse stories have been gaining […]

#MHYALit: Small Towns and Mental Illness, a guest post by This is Not a Love Letter author Kim Purcell

Today we are honored to have a guest post by author Kim Purcell. She is discussing with us the topic of small towns and mental health. She is also generously offering to give away one copy of THIS IS NOT A LOVE LETTER, which comes out tomorrow, January 30th, from Disney Hyperion. In This Is […]

YA A to Z: Boarding Schools, a guest post by Tawny Stokes

It’s the fourth week of January, which means we’re discussing the Letter B in YA A to Z. Today we are talking about boarding schools with author Tawny Stokes. You can find out more about YA A to Z here. School. That regular staple in almost every teen’s life.  It’s a place rife with drama […]

Take 5: New YA Booklists You’ll Want to See (January 2018)

2018 YA Diverse Books: http://www.epicreads.com/blog/2018-diverse-ya-books/
Notable Books for Teens about the Arab World: http://diversityinya.tumblr.com/post/90356654158/notable-novels-for-teens-about-the-arab-world
11 Books about the South Asian Dia…

A Collection of Tweets on the Discussion of YA Books Set in College/Post High School

Over the past few days, there has been an ongoing discussion on Twitter about the need for YA books that highlight the post high school life and whether or not they should be marketed as YA. I tweeted a lot about it and have compiled those tweets below. I am also working on putting together […]

Sunday Reflections: That Delicate Balance Between Quality Patron Services and Employee Personal Boundaries

Please note: This post will share a bunch of stories of patron interactions in public libraries and no names or locations will be shared. Some of them are stories from friends, social media, and my own. None of them will reveal that communities in which they occurred to help protect all parties involved. The man […]

MakerSpace: DIY Metal Stamping (A metal stamping kit review)

Jewelry making has been pretty popular in our Teen MakerSpace, and I really wanted to give metal stamping a try. However, the individual components always seemed more expensive then something I wanted to spend just to try something out. Fortunately, I found a complete metal stamping kit at Target for only $24.99, and that seemed […]

Book Review: Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson

Publisher’s Book Description: New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E. Lockhart. Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded […]

So, You’ve Just Tweeted That Nobody Uses Public Libraries Anymore . . .

Hi There, So, you have just tweeted that nobody uses public libraries anymore and we don’t need to fund them, but I’m going to stop you right there. First of all, I’m going to assume that what you really mean is that you don’t use your public library anymore so because you don’t, you assume […]

YA A to Z: Let’s Talk About . . . Aromantic and Asexual, a guest post by Bridgette Johnson

It’s the second week of January, which means we’re discussing the Letter A in YA A to Z. Today we are talking about aromantic and asexual with librarian Bridgette Johnson. You can find out more about YA A to Z here. Before we delve too deep into our topic, let’s have some super basic broad […]