Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors

Coming Soon: YA Lit on the Small and Big Screen

New Books Alert: Featuring a middle grade #MeToo, an LGBTQ guide, a haunted house, a memoir about living with Treacher Collins syndrome, and more

Friday Finds: August 9, 2019

Book Review: The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson, reviewed by teen reviewer Elliot

Cindy Crushes Programming: Star Wars Escape Room

Book Review: You Be You!: The Kid’s Guide to Gender, Sexuality, and Family by Jonathan Branfman, Julie Benbassat (Illustrator)

Guest Post: What to Do When Disaster Destroys Your Books and How to Harness Social Media for Good

Book Review: Let’s Call It a Doomsday by Katie Henry

A Brief History of YA Literature, an Infographic

Collecting Comics: Middle Grade Novels that a Middle Grade Reader Really Loves

What A. S. King Means to Me, a guest post by The Teen

Friday Finds: July 12, 2019

Kickin It Old School in the New School Library

Kicky’s Post It Note Reviews: In which a teen reader tells us what they think about several new books including Girls of July, Hot Dog Girl, Poet X, 10 Blind Dates, Stepsister and The Serpent King

ALA highlights: What I saw and what I missed (Banquets not included)

Twitter Talk: What Do You Think is Missing from Today’s YA?

Slime, slime, and more slime

The Complete Listing of All Public Children’s Literature Statues in the United States (2019 Edition)

Cindy Crushes Programming: Mission to Mars Escape Room

Take 5: Books on Creative Writing

Sparking Summer Reading, a guest post by M.G. Hennessey

When Pride is Said and Done: Teen Contributor Elliott Shares Their Post Pride Thoughts

Book Review: Stonewall Riots: Coming Out in the Streets by Gayle E Pitman

Book Review: Technically, You Started It by Lana Wood Johnson

Teen Services 101: What Keeps Teens Coming Back to the Public Library?

New books alert: Magic-fueled airships, an underwater future, a young activists’ handbook, and more!

Cindy Crushes Programming: DIY Harry Potter Book of Monsters

Penguin Random House 2019 Showcase: Books featuring Ziggy Stardust, friends pretending to date, a vengeful ghost, vampires, and more!

Out and Proud (On the Page and In Real Life): My Long and Not-Straight Journey to Self-Acceptance, a guest post by Amber Smith

Teen Services 101: So You Want to Do Teen Programming, but What About the Books?

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt 2019 Showcase: Books featuring beasties, a killer flu, a changeling, and pirates

Teen Services 101: What Do We Know About Teen Programming?

Sunday Reflections: I Could Not Stop for Death, on the emotional labor of teen librarianship

Book Review: Tell Me How You Really Feel by Aminah Mae Safi

New books alert: A royal romance, a North African-inspired fantasy, a feminist look at reproductive rights, and more

Digital Media: Using Apps to Take Your Photos Out of This World

Friday Finds: May 24, 2019

Book Review: Brave Face: A Memoir by Shaun David Hutchinson

Cindy Crushes Programming: Find a Good Book with Miss Cindy

Writing Myself a New Story, a guest post by Jasmine Warga

Teen Services 101: Serving Teens, Challenges and Rewards

Book Review: I Wish You All the Best by Mason Deaver

Teen Services 101: Understanding Teens Today

Friday Finds: May 10, 2019

Post-It Note Reviews: Books for younger readers featuring graphic novels, a handbook for being awesome, middle school woes, and interdimensional demon-slaying

Book Review: The Haunted by Danielle Vega

Cindy Crushes Programming: Cindy’s Favorite Tabletop Games

Dear Society: Sheltering Teenagers Helps No One (Thoughts from a Young Adult), a guest post by Zack Smedley

Fuse 8 n’ Kate: Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel by Virginia Lee Burton

Cordelia Anderson : Harnessing the Power of Story to Promote Libraries

Amanda MacGregor: Social Justice Presentation at Twin Cities Teen Lit Con

Sunday Reflections: The Living History Museum Project Taught Me It’s Harder to Smash the Patriarchy Than I Thought

Friday Finds: May 3, 2019

Author Molly E. Lee stops by to talk about hackers, coding, gender bias, and her new book, ASK ME ANYTHING

Book Review: Hot Dog Girl by Jennifer Dugan

Teen Services 101: I’m just getting started with teen services, what do I need to succeed?

Read Wild: Cli-fi, How Books Can Start Conversations and Inspire Action

Book Review: Love and Other Curses by Michael Thomas Ford

New books alert: A nonbinary teen, sisters having an epic day, a reimagining of The Little Mermaid, and so much more!

Read Wild: Nature Deficit Disorder and its implications for teens

What’s New in LGBTQIA+ YA April 2019

Staff Development: When RA training and diversity training meet

Where do younger teen readers fit in?

Let’s Talk About Sex…Positivity in YA, a guest post by Jenn Bennett

National School Climate Survey results about LGBTQ students’ experiences in school

Author Heidi Daniele Guest Post: The House Children

Post-it Note Reviews of YA Books: Rappers, movie lovers, survivors, and teens who create their own universe

Kids Can Handle Big Decisions . . . If the Adults Get Out of the Way (But Also Don’t), a guest post by Kirstin Cronn-Mills

Feminist AF: Internal Revolutions: Books + Emotional Literacy a guest post by Emma Fernhout

Conversation Snapshots: Let’s Talk YA Lit Titles & YA Programming Success

Sunday Reflections: How the Language of Deconstructing One’s Faith Helped Me Understand Adolescence

Cindy Crushes Programming: The Road to Wrestlemania

New books alert: A fantasy set in Seoul, an anthology featuring interracial and LGBTQ+ relationships, romance via virtual reality, and more

Idea Alert! A Customizable Spinning Wheel for Events & Giveaways

Sunday Reflections: Let’s Update Those YA Lit Articles with Current Titles

Sunday Reflections: Let’s Update Those YA Lit Articles with Current Titles, and more suggestions for how we talk about YA lit in the media

Monsters united can never be defeated: sentimental queer horror YA, a guest post by Hal Schrieve

Beyond the Collection Diversity Audit: Inclusion is More Than a Book, Why we should be auditing all of our library services for inclusion and best practices

Feminist AF: What Makes a YA Book a Feminist YA Book?

Sunday Reflections: The Okay Sign, a Game of Gotcha, and a Symbol of Hate, Why It’s Important to Stay Informed

What’s new in LGBTQIA+ YA March 2019

Cindy Crushes Programming: Riverdale Fan Party

Cindy Crushes Programming: Hosting a Riverdale Fan Party

The Where of it All: Place and Story, a guest post by Kathi Appelt

Sunday Reflections: We Need to Talk About the Way We Talk About Library Patrons

Book Review: Heroine by Mindy McGinnis

Writing with a Trigger Warning, a guest post by Victoria Lee

Book Review: We Set the Dark on Fire by Tehlor Kay Mejia

A Secret Corner, a guest post by Tehlor Kay Mejia

Written Across My Skin, a guest post by Lizzy Mason

Book Review: The Art of Losing by Lizzy Mason

A Tale of Three Printers, portable photo printers that is (Tech Review)

Post-it Note Reviews of YA Books: Undocumented teen voices, the supernatural, writing advice, a searing memoir, and Joan of Arc’s life told through poems

Book Review: The Past and Other Things That Should Stay Buried by Shaun David Hutchinson

Feminist AF: Girls Run the World, a guest post by Jennifer Rummel

New books alert: Writing advice, Latinx teens on a road trip, Muslims in love, and so much more

Cindy Crushes Programming: Hosting a Fortnite Party, by Cindy Shutts

Cindy Crushes Programming: Hosting a Fortnite Party, by Cindy Shutts

Book Review: Watch Us Rise by Renee Watson and Ellen Hagan

What’s new in LGBTQIA+ YA February 2019

articles

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.