Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Author
Specific Publisher

The Push for Police-Free Schools Continues Amid Debate

When Weeding Books, Librarians Are Attending to Inclusion and Diversity, SLJ Survey Shows

WE NEED MORE HEROES OF COLOR IN MIDDLE GRADE FANTASIES: A SOUTH ASIAN PERSPECTIVE, a guest post by Payal Doshi

WATCH: Kekla Magoon Talks to Ibi Zoboi About Family, Identity, and Diverse Books

Writing for Change: Margaret A. Edwards Award Winner Kekla Magoon in Conversation with Ibi Zoboi

Book Review: Jay’s Gay Agenda by Jason June

Reading in Community: The Pandemic and Racial Justice Movement Galvanized Focused Reading Groups

Let’s Be Frank: Honest Conversations About Sex in YA, a guest post by Jason June

10 YA Sports Novels That Knock It Out of the Park | Summer Reading 2021

12 Books To Nurture Budding Young Activists | Summer Reading 2021

10 Books and Resources on the Tulsa Race Massacre

Hilary Beard and Tim Madigan in Conversation on “The Burning” and the Tulsa Race Massacre

8 Middle Grade LGBTQIA+ Romances for Pride and Beyond

Antiracist Teaching: How Educators are Bringing New Lessons and Perspective to the Classroom

Book Review: Cool for the Summer by Dahlia Adler

Multilingual Learners Faced Unique Challenges in Distance Learning. Educators Stepped Up with Innovative Solutions.

Born with Magic: 20 LGBTQIA+ Sci-Fi and Fantasy Reads

Book Review: Thanks a Lot, Universe by Chad Lucas

REFORMA Children in Crisis Project Continues to Aid Unaccompanied Minors at the Border

Marvelous Read-Alikes for WandaVision

The Black Caucus of ALA Launches Children & YA Literary Awards, Sponsored by SLJ

6 Titles That Spotlight Ramadan and Eid for Young Readers

Inaugural Pride Book Fest Set for June

Book Review: When You Get the Chance by Tom Ryan and Robin Stevenson

22 Stellar Reads for Asian American Pacific Islander Heritage Month

Joy, Connection and Community: Finding Pride in Books During a Pandemic, a conversation between Robin Stevenson and Tom Ryan

Five Debut YA Authors Make Readers Feel Something

The Queer Kids Are All Right, a guest post by James Sie

Book Review: Meet Cute Diary by Emery Lee

Book Review: Between Perfect and Real by Ray Stoeve

New Books for Spring from Kevin Henkes, Kyle Lukoff, Renée Watson, and More | Starred Reviews, April 2021

Publishers Arm a New Generation of Eco-Warriors

New Study Looks at Race, Gender Representation in Award-Winning Children's Books

Book Review: Kate in Waiting by Becky Albertalli

All-Star Lineup Promises Dynamic Discussion at SLJ Day of Dialog

Jason Reynolds Named Banned Books Week Honorary Chair; 1619 Project Books Coming in November; and More | News Bites

State of America's Libraries Report Offers Snapshot of Libraries' Pandemic Work and Challenges

10 Graphic Biographies Bring Notable Figures to Life | Stellar Panels

Book Review: No Way, They Were Gay?: Hidden Lives and Secret Loves by Lee Wind

LGBTQ+ Books Reflect a Changing Society

WATCH: Disrupting Literary Hegemony: Trans and Nonbinary Author Spotlight

SCBWI Announces New Latinx Writer Grant and BIPOC Illustrator Prize

LGBTQ+ Book Challenges Continue As Texas Parents Object to "Call Me Max"

Processing Hate: Anti-Asian racism calls for education, a place in our national reckoning

Queer Joy, Pain, and the Other Side of Silence, a guest post by Steven Salvatore

Book Review: Can’t Take That Away by Steven Salvatore

Antiracism Book Festival Set For April, Eric Carle Museum To Reopen, and More | News Bites

Book Review: Once Upon a Quinceañera by Monica Gomez-Hira

Kid Lit Community Launches Auction To Help Combat Anti-Asian Racism | News Bites

When Animals Are Used as Stand-ins for Transgender Humans, People are Diminished | Essay

Eight Podcasts About Black Changemakers

Book Review: The Deepest Breath by Meg Grehan

Outstanding International Books: The USBBY 2021 List

Book Review: A Pho Love Story by Loan Le

Great Joy and Self-Love: Renée Watson on "Love Is a Revolution"

The 1619 Project Education Network, a New Name for Teaching Tolerance, and More | News Bites

Book Review: As Far As You’ll Take Me by Phil Stamper

Black Lives Matter at School Week of Action 2021

Everything YMA: SLJ’s Coverage, Reviews of 2021 Youth Media Award Winners, Honorees

2021 Walter Awards Go To Punching the Air and When Stars Are Scattered

2021 Youth Media Awards Winners

Children’s Publishing World Reacts to Michaela Goade's History-Making Caldecott Medal, Rest of the YMA Winners

A Grateful Michaela Goade Makes Caldecott History

From Korean Folklore to a Newbery Medal, Tae Keller Wins Coveted Prize for When You Trap a Tiger

Book Review: Last Night at the Telegraph Club by Malinda Lo

Youngest Inaugural Poet in History Impresses. Lesson Plans Available for Amanda Gorman's "The Hill We Climb."

Book Review: Be Dazzled by Ryan La Sala

To Teach or Not To Teach: Is Shakespeare Still Relevant to Today's Students?

The Year in SLJ Covers 2020

CDC: Teachers, Support Staff Recommended for Next Round of Vaccine | News Bites

Book Review: This Is How We Fly by Anna Meriano

SLJ's Most Popular Stories of 2020

Book Review: The Love Curse of Melody McIntyre by Robin Talley

Stories That Power Generations

Latinx Graphic Novels to the Fore | Stellar Panels

Unlearning False Histories: A Rosa Parks Resource List for the Anniversary of the Montgomery Bus Boycott

How I Found My Very Favorite Book in the Whole Wide World

2019 GLSEN National School Climate Survey results about LGBTQ students’ experiences in school

Book Review: The Magic Fish by Trung Le Nguyen

Readers Discuss and Debate All-School Reads, Little Free Libraries, and More | Feedback

The Power of Story: Diwali, My Father, and Me

The Power of Story: Nurturing Agents of Positive Change

Authors Kate Messner, Traci Sorrell Host "Rethinking Thanksgiving" Webinar | News Bites

The World That Raised Us Killed Us: Miles McKenna Discusses How J.K. Rowling's Anti-Transgender Platform Harms Young Readers

James McBride, Tommy Orange Weigh in on the Classics | SLJ Summit

Missed the SLJ Summit? You Can Access the Full Program on Demand.

Activities and Discussion Guides for All Because You Matter

28 Days Are Not Enough: Joel Christian Gill on Adapting Black History into Graphic Novel Format

Black Lives Matter Cofounder Patrisse Cullors Calls Upon Educators To Lead Courageous Conversations | SLJ Summit 2020

An Author's Time Travel: Writing Stories for Young Readers To Carry With Them Into the Future

Challenging the Classics to Create an Inclusive Curriculum | SLJ Summit 2020

Cynthia Leitich Smith Awarded 2021 NSK Neustadt Prize for Children’s Literature

The Power of Story: Recognizing Prejudice

Muslim Representation in Picture Books

23 Latinx YA Picks for Latinx Heritage Month and All Year Long

SLJ's Reviews of the 2020 National Book Award Finalists

Jacqueline Woodson Named a 2020 MacArthur Fellow

Nicola and David Yoon To Launch YA Romance Imprint By and About People of Color

The Power of Story: It Was Not Okay

22 Latinx Middle Grade Titles Filled with Magic, Found Family, and More

articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?