FICTION

When the Truth Unravels

304p. Sky Pony. Jan. 2019. Tr $16.99. ISBN 9781510733572.
COPY ISBN
Gr 10 Up—This debut novel delves into the complicated and dramatic world of four best friends at the end of their senior year. Jenna, Rosie, Ket, and Elin's relationship was thrown into a tailspin when pretty and popular Elin attempted suicide. Her friends are determined to keep her secret and ensure she doesn't try again—until she goes missing on prom night. Snow weaves the story across time lines and points of view, ensnaring readers within the jumble of events leading up to Elin's attempt and the aftermath. Immersion in the harrowing tale of Elin's depression and her friends' endeavor to fix it, all while still facing down their own heartaches and strife is immediate.
VERDICT A definite page-turner about teenage navigation through life; recommended for fans of John Green's books, Jenny Torres Sanchez's The Fall of Innocence, or Jay Asher's Thirteen Reasons Why.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Community matters. Stay up to date on breaking news, trends, reviews, and more.

Get access to 6000+ annual reviews of books, databases, and more

As low as $12/month