FICTION

What Remains

336p. ebook available. Flux. May 2015. pap. $9.99. ISBN 9780738744308.
COPY ISBN
Gr 9 Up—As long as Cal can remember, he has been part of a trio: Cal, Spencer, and Lizzie. Cal and Spencer have known each other since preschool, and Lizzie came into their lives in first grade. It was obvious even then that Lizzie needed protecting and the boys took the job seriously, often helping Lizzie escape her drunken mother and her string of abusive boyfriends. Now in high school, they are still close, but the dynamic is different; they love one another, but Lizzie is in love with Spencer, even though she knows Spencer is gay. Lizzie's late night admission that she and Spencer slept together once makes Cal feel like an outsider for the first time, although he tries to hide it. Everything changes one afternoon when Cal's car is hit at a high speed by a distracted driver. Spencer only receives superficial bumps and bruises, Lizzie is thrown from the car and killed, and Cal is injured severely enough to require a heart transplant. He is given Lizzie's heart and starts hearing her voice in his head. He also has dreams that he is sure are of Lizzie's life, and he finds himself with some of her artistic talent. It is his inability to overcome his fear of driving that convinces him to start seeing a psychiatrist, and he slowly starts healing and learning to forgive himself.
VERDICT This novel will appeal to readers who enjoy Lurlene McDaniel's and Gayle Forman's books.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.