BOOKS
The Light Jar
240p. Scholastic. Jan. 2019. Tr $17.99. ISBN 9781338216301.
COPY ISBN
Gr 4–6—A witty and courageous book. Nate likes puzzles, riddles, and is a connoisseur of "freaky facts." He finds most human relationships ineffable, especially his tenuous connection to his parents. Over the course of one rainy winter night in an abandoned cottage in the countryside, Nate works to negotiate his mother's limits and their shared pain. Failing to protect him from her live-in boyfriend, Gary, Nate's mother attempts to craft a family out of the wreckage of his father's abandonment and Gary's random acts of emotional sadism which include removing all the light fixtures so that their house is perpetually dark and taking her cell phone so she can't contact anyone for help. Meanwhile, Nate finds solace in Sam, an invisible friend; Kitty, a mysterious neighbor; a roving chicken; and the handmade light jar his mother makes for him (a glass container filled with a string of small lights). Carefully and beautifully written, this is a book that will appeal to readers who enjoyed Ann M. Martin's Rain Reign and David Almond's Skellig.
VERDICT A strongly recommended purchase for robust middle grade collections.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.