FICTION

The Gryphon’s Lair

Puffin Canada. (A Royal Guide to Monster Slaying: Bk. 2). Jun. 2020. 288p. Tr $16.99. ISBN 9780735265387.
COPY ISBN
Gr 4-6–Rowan returns in this follow-up to Armstrong’s A Royal Guide to Monster Slaying. Readers do not have to wait long for the Royal Monster Hunter to land in another sticky situation. When the gryphon captured in her last adventure is killed while giving birth, Rowan convinces her mother, the Queen, to allow the baby named Tiera to stay in the castle so it can be studied before it’s returned to the wild. When her mother’s family attempts to claim the throne through scheming, Rowan is once again thrust into a highly dangerous yet necessary mission to bring Tiera home to her kin living high in the mountains. Following in the footsteps of the first installment, this entry offers nonstop action and adventure. Rowan and her friends not only encounter mythological beasts, they also deal with the everyday problems of the average middle schooler. Rowan must field rumors of her mother becoming involved with someone new after her father’s death and navigate the misunderstandings and awkward feelings that come with friends becoming potential crushes.
VERDICT An enjoyable follow-up to its rollicking predecessor. Recommended for fans of Rick Riordan and Tamora Pierce.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Community matters. Stay up to date on breaking news, trends, reviews, and more.

Get access to 6000+ annual reviews of books, databases, and more

As low as $12/month