FICTION

The Cryptid Keeper

Farrar. (Cryptid Duology: Bk. 2). Aug. 2019. 320p. Tr $16.99. ISBN 9780374305567.
COPY ISBN
Gr 5-7–In this sequel to The Cryptid Catcher, globe-trotting 13-year-old Clivo Wren continues his mission to find living mythological creatures with the help of the Mythbusters team, a group of intellectual boys and girls, all of whom consider themselves “the good guys” compared to the “bad guys” who keep attacking Clivo and the cryptids on his travels. Fisher balances action, travel, intrigue, faux science, and light, trope-based comedy, though the overuse of bro-isms such as “dude” out of the wannabe-manly sidekicks’ mouths wears thin, and some of the stereotypes verge on offensive, such as the two clueless cooking-and-cleaning adult female characters and the mysterious tough-guy Egyptian cult members who seem straight out of Indiana Jones. This easy-to-follow adventure doesn’t contain a lot of character development but it’s got a heavy dose of advice on friendship and being a “good guy.” The premise of the series relies upon a twist on evolutionary theory in which the cryptids adapt their unique abilities as long-lived individual organisms.
VERDICT The second in a readable adventure series that might appeal to fans of Michael Buckley’s “NERDS” series or Ron McGee’s “Ryan Quinn” books.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.