FICTION

Karma Moon, Ghost ­Hunter

Crown. Jan. 2021. 352p. Tr $16.99. ISBN 9780593302798.
COPY ISBN
Gr 3-7–The call from Netflix comes on a Tuesday, and by the end of the week it’s settled: Karma Moon and her dad, along with the rest of the Totally Rad film crew, will be spending spring break at the haunted Stanley Hotel in Colorado. If there’s one thing Karma—queen of the anxious what-ifs and believer in all-things paranormal—knows for sure, it’s that this trip is a big mistake in the woo-woo department. But with her dad’s dreams hanging on finding a ghost and securing a second season, Karma’s all-in, no matter what her what-ifs have to say. Set mostly in Colorado at the famous Stanley Hotel, Savage’s latest novel is one readers are sure to devour. Karma is fun, quirky, but also real; she’s open about her anxieties, as well as her doubt that her mother will return if the Netflix show is a success. Other characters lack her depth, unfortunately, but a snappy, spooky plot makes up for their shortcomings. All characters present as white.
VERDICT With a witty, authentic lead and a story line that’s just spooky enough to keep readers on the edge of their seats, this is a perfect read for fans of Patti Kim, Ellen Oh, and Neil Gaiman alike.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?