REVIEWS+

All Our Broken Pieces

416p. Disney-Hyperion. May 2019. Tr $17.99. ISBN 9781368023962.
COPY ISBN
Gr 9 Up—After the death of her mother and a three-month hospital stay for obsessive-compulsive disorder, Lennon Davis moves from Maine to Los Angeles to live with her father, his wife Claire, and stepsiblings Andrea and Jacob. Once there, Lennon takes up residence in a stark, gray bedroom where she finds security in the number five. If she taps the doorknob five times or switches the light off five times, over and over again, nothing bad will happen. Her neighbor Kyler Benton takes notice of what seems to be a disco show going on in Lennon's bedroom across the street. Kyler has his own issues—he hides a facial scar with hair and hoodies—but finds peace playing guitar and writing songs. When the two come together, a musician and his muse, a love story comes to life. Crichton's foray into young adult literature is nothing short of superb. Clearly well researched and handled sensitively, this novel will have readers in tears as Lennon and Kyler gain strength and acceptance within themselves. Issues are dealt with delicately in this emotionally charged story addressing teenage love, mental illness, physical defects, and more.
VERDICT Perfect for fans of Tamara Ireland-Stone's Every Last Word, Louise Gornall's Under Rose-Tainted Skies, and Sophie Kinsella's Finding Audrey.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.