Nominees Named for 2019 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award

Judy Blume, Laurie Halse Anderson, and LeVar Burton are among candidates to be 2019 ALMA laureate.

Nominees for the 2019 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA) were announced today in Sweden. The list has 246 candidates from 64 countries and includes Laurie Halse Anderson, Judy Blume, LeVar Burton (pictured), Eric Carle, Kate DiCamillo, and Margarita Engle. 

The 2019 ALMA laureate will be announced on April 2.

Founded in 2002 by the Swedish government, the Astrid Lindren Memorial Award is the world's largest award for children's and young adult literature. Recipients can be authors, illustrators, oral storytellers, and reading promoters regardless of language or nationality. A jury selects the laureate(s) from nominated candidates who have been suggested by more than 100 nomination bodies from around the world with "in-depth knowledge about children's and young adult literature."

Jacqueline Woodson was named the 2018 laureate.


Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.



We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing