Most Popular 2015 Articles of “SLJTeen”

Your clicks have spoken! The following are the top 10 pieces that ran in the SLJTeen newsletter this year.
Your clicks have spoken! The following are the top 10 pieces that ran in the SLJTeen newsletter this year. Ranging from tech tips to announcements on the latest award winners, these articles were the ones SLJTeen readers opened most frequently. Pieces about collection development seem to be the trend here, including read-alikes for John Green’s Paper Towns (Dutton, 2008), which was adapted for film this summer. And YA lit–focused posts in general are highly sought after. Yet it’s no surprise to me which article was the most popular of 2015. Let’s count them all down! SLJTeen_BestArticles
10. Librarian Molly Wetta Curates SLJ’s Banned Books Pinterest Board by Shelley Diaz Looking for inspiration in advance of Banned Books Week (BBW)? Look no further than SLJ’s BBW Pinterest page, curated by blogger and collection development librarian Molly Wetta. (September 15)
9. Paper Towns and Other Epic Road Trip Titles in YA Lit by Joy Fleishhacker As buzz builds for the film adaptation of John Green’s Paper Towns, check out the following selections, all of which feature summertime journeys and epic odysseys. (July 1)
8. Six Back-to-School Goals for Teacher Librarians | Tech Tidbits by Phil Goerner Librarians can jump-start the school year by setting some essential goals. Here, teacher librarian Phil Goerner tackles his top six objectives and lays out a plan for achieving these goals, which range from creating new maker space projects to engaging teachers in professional development. (August 28)
7. Those Tired Summer Reading Lists. Here’s What to Do. by Carly Okyle Many librarians say it’s time to overhaul the whole idea of mandatory reading in June, July, and August. Find out what they’re doing about it—and check out 10 tips to flip the summer reading experience. (April 15)
6. 15 New Manga Series to Freshen Up Teen Collections by Brigid Alverson “Good Comics 4 Kids” blogger Brigid Alverson offers a look at 15 new manga series for teens that librarians will want to add to their collections. (July 29)
5. Serving Conservative Teens by Nicole Jenks May An educator recommends titles for teen patrons of diverse faiths, along with tips and a working book list. Check out these suggestions, then add your own. (March 4)
4. Take SLJ’s Must-Have YA Poll by Shelley Diaz If you could purchase only 100 YA novels for a library serving teens, what would they be? Cast your votes in SLJ’s first-ever Must-Have YA Poll. (November 4)
3. Top Page-to-Screen Adaptations to Put on Your Radar by Gabrielle Bondi Media and popular culture expert and founder of TheYoungFolks.com, Gabrielle Bondi, presents the upcoming book-to-film adaptations that teens (and librarians) should put on their to-watch lists. (October 19)
2. Five Finalists Announced for the 2015 National Book Award for Young People’s Literature by Shelley Diaz The National Book Foundation has revealed the finalists for the 2015 National Book Award for Young People’s Literature. (October 14)
1. SLJ’s Best of 2015 | Books, Apps, and More by SLJ Staff and Contributors From adult books for teens, books by and about Latin@s, and graphic novels, to audiobooks, and DVDs, School Library Journal covered the best of everything in 2015.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.