2020 Mathical Book Prize Winners Announced

The annual awards honor books that inspire young readers to see math in the world around them.

The Mathematical Sciences Research Institute (MSRI) announced this year's Mathical Book Prize winners. The award is given to books for kids ages 2-18 that "inspire children of all ages to see math in the world around them." 

The 2020 winners are One Fox: A Counting Book Thriller by Kate Read (PreK), Pigeon Math by Asia Citro (K-2), Solving for M by Jennifer Swender (Grades 3-5), and  Slay by Brittney Morris (Grades 9-12). The committee did not select a winning title for grades 6-8.

Read: SLJ, MSRI Launch Mathical Book Prize Collection Development Awards

The Mathical Book Prize is awarded by the MSRI, in partnership with the National Council of Teachers of English and the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics, and in coordination with the Children’s Book Council.

Honor books and Hall of Fame titles were also named. The committee did not select an honor title for grades 9-12. Read the full press release below.


Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.



We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing