Google+

July 30, 2014

Subscribe to SLJ

Tragic consequences of intolerance and gun violence explored in “Valentine Road”| DVD Pick

valentineroad

Valentine Road belongs in all school and public libraries as a cautionary tale about homophobia, intolerance, and the easy availability of guns.

Pennridge School District Loses Elementary School Librarian for Upcoming School Year

Pennridgecuts-TN

Pennsylvania’s Pennridge School District’s budget was passed in June—and it has eliminated an elementary school library position.

Star YA Authors Reveal Inspirations and Challenges | SLJ SummerTeen 2014

SumTeen-logo-Roundup

On July 24, SLJ’s SummerTeen virtual event, attended by nearly 800 conference goers, was chock full of popular and thought-provoking YA authors, such as keynoters Gayle Forman (If I Stay) and Matthew Quick (Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock), who reveal some of the more personal asides, challenges, and stories behind novel writing. It was Quick who said, “Good literature, he said, “[comforts] the disturbed and [disturbs] the comforted.”

We Ask SLJ Columnists & Bloggers: What Are You Reading This Summer?

SummerReading_featured

SLJ asked some of its columnists and bloggers the big question: what are you reading this summer?

Sketching Celebrities | SLJ Spotlight

ArtistsWritersThinkersDreamers

James Gulliver Hancock’s new nonfiction title offers a charming and whimsical look at well-known figures through drawing.

Grunt, Quack, Oink | Focus On Animal Books

SLJ1407-FT_FO-pig-TN

From preschool to middle grade, these nonfiction titles explore the animal kingdom and all its wild ways.

This article was published in School Library Journal's July 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Opinion: Dear Congressman, Research Shows Closing School Libraries and Cutting Certified Librarians Does Not Make Sense

SarahLittman-rezie

Closing school libraries and cutting certified librarian positions does not make sense, says YA author and advocate Sarah Darer Littman, who has backed this assertion with research she cites in an open letter to policy makers.

Folklore and fantasy thrive in “Midwinterblood”| Audio Pick

midwinterblood

This unusual book for teensis is comprised of seven vignettes, with settings ranging from the future to Viking times and a variety of characters, including vampires, ghosts, and humans all based on the Scandinavian island of Blessed.

Middle Grade Fiction Giveaway; Conference With Service to LGBTQ Youth Focus | SLJTeen News

Confessions of a Middle child

Take a chance on freshening up your middle grade collection with Maria Lennon’s “Middle Child” series, and learn about Time to THRIVE, a unique and much needed conference focusing on service to LGBTQ youth.

University of Illinois and Freedom to Read Foundation Offer Intellectual Freedom Course

Emily Knox-resize

The Freedom to Read Foundation and the Graduate School of Library and Information Science at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign are joining forces to offer an online graduate-level course “Intellectual Freedom and Censorship” for library and information science students around the country held August 26–October 10.

Soon to Be Famous Author Winner, School Librarian Joanne Zienty

JZienty-feature

Illinois school librarian and winner of the “Soon to Be Famous Author Project” with her book The Things We Save, has had a huge year—and it almost didn’t happen.

How Librarians Can Help Fight the Culture of Slut-Shaming

the truth about alice

YA authors are tackling “the s-word” head-on. As professionals serving young people, librarians can talk to teens about why slut-shaming can’t be tolerated—and provide supportive programming.

2014 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award Finalists Announced

Winger

The Assembly on Literature for Adolescents (ALAN) of the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) has announced the finalists for the 2014 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award for Young Adult Fiction. The winner will be announced on Wednesday, July 30.

Collaborating on the Summer Slide: University Students Tutor at Jacksonville Public Library

UNF Tutoring program

A unique partnership between Jacksonville (FL) Public Library and the University of North Florida continues to bring tutoring services to children who might otherwise experience the “summer slide.”

‘Gatsby’ and ‘Brideshead Revisited’ Readalikes for Teens | SLJ Spotlight

even in paradise

Chelsey Philpot’s Even in Paradise and Charles Finch’s The Last Enchantments explore the lush secret lives of the rich and privileged.

A Teacher Librarian’s Path to Becoming a Google Educator | Tech Tidbits

GoogleForEducation

Inspired by the recent Innovative Education in Colorado Conference, teacher librarian Phil Goerner set out to become a certified Google Educator this summer. Here’s what he learned.

Nashville Public Library Partners with Local School Libraries to Boost Results for Students

Limitless Libraries Logo-resize

Librarian Tricia Bengel of Nashville Public Library shares her story about teaming up with local school librarians and offers practical tips for others in the industry.

Teens Review ‘The Burnouts’, ‘Like No Other’, and ‘Illusive’

The Burnouts

Two of the three titles reviewed by teens in this column are written by authors being featured on SummerTeen 2014—Una LaMarche and Lex Thomas. Register now to see all of them live on camera, on July 24.

“Addiction Incorporated” highlights dangerous dealings of the tobacco industry| DVD Pick

addictionincorporated

An extremely interesting snapshot that gives viewers a chance to watch a rather sordid piece of American corporate history. Researcher Victor DeNoble talks about his research in the 1980s for tobacco giant Philip Morris.

Kids Solve Global Problems, Buy Tractor for Village in Zambia | ISTE 2014

Global Problems 2-resize

The ISTE session “Teaching Kids to Harness Technology to Solve Global Problems” showed how a group of Michigan fifth and sixth graders used compassion, curiosity, and 21st-century skills to raise money and buy a tractor for a village in Zambia.