Google+

October 30, 2014

Subscribe to SLJ
Dodie Ownes

About Dodie Ownes

Dodie Ownes left the glamorous world of retrospective conversion and disco to jump on the library vendor train. Since then, she has been learning at the feet of the masters about all things library. Dodie lives in Golden, Colorado, where even the sign which arches the main street says "Howdy."

SLJTeen Chats with Jim Ziolkowski, Founder of buildON Nonprofit

Jim Ziolkowski signing at Floral Park

A trip to Malawi, Africa in 1992 convinced GE executive Jim Ziolkowski that he had a different calling—giving students the opportunity to transform their lives through access to education.

Win Funds for Author Visits; Jasper Fforde Giveaway; Gale Boosts STEM Resources | SLJTeen News

eyeofzoltarus

Fund an author visit with help from the Maureen Hayes Award, win a set of Jasper Fforde titles, and discover a new source of STEM materials for students.

YALSA Summer Reading Grants; “My Library Story” Campaign from Gale | SLJTeen News

Change-the-Headlines_TN

The latest grants, contests, and news bites for librarians working with teens, including a way to boost summer reading programs with help from YALSA and Dollar General, and a library awareness campaign from Gale.

Graphic Novel Resources; Collection Development Grant; Green Cooking for Teens | SLJTeen News

Teen Reader

Apply for a $5,000 YA collection development grant to purchase the graphic novel resources our Good Comics for Kids bloggers have gathered. Check out the latest roundup of teen services news bites.

SLJTeen Speaks with the Wizard of Kazam, Jasper Fforde

Eye of Zoltar

How does Jasper Fforde come up with the magnificent characters, creatures, and settings in his “Chronicles of Kazam” series? He relies on “stuff—the exciting smorgasbord of weird stuff that happens to us, around us, and in us.”

Go West, New Librarian; Teens Making a Difference Giveaway; Pet Poetry Contest | SLJTeen News

Be a Changemaker

Opportunities abound for new librarians, teen change-seekers, and pet loving poets. Check out our latest roundup of teen services news bites.

Miley Cyrus, Teen Titans, and Dust Bunnies | Graphic Novel News

Miley Cyrus

“Miley Cyrus’s Life Turned Into a Comic Book”—how often do you get handed a headline like this? Bluewater Productions will be releasing Fame: Miley Cyrus this week in print and digital formats.

Teens Teach Tech Grants, Giveaways, and Teens’ Top Ten Voting Opens | SLJTeen News

Teens Top Ten YALSA

Looking for a way to get your older patrons up to speed on the latest tech gadgets but short on staff time? There’s a grant for that. Chronicle has a galley for every reader in its giveaway basket, and please note: it’s time for teens to vote for their favorites from the YALSA Teens’ Top Ten 2014 nominee list.

Dollars Invested in Teen Library Services Pay Off

IMLS logo

According to a 2011 Pew report, 72 percent of 16-17-year-olds used the public library in the previous year. This new report from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) will provide the fuel teen librarians need to convince library stakeholders that dollars invested in teens are well spent.

AASL Approves New Mission Statement of Empowerment

AASL logo

At the 2014 ALA Annual Conference in Las Vegas, the AASL Board of Directors unanimously voted to approve a new mission statement for the association that more accurately reflects its goals and practices.

SLJTeen Chats with Emily Kiebel, Debut Author of ‘Serenade’

Serenade

SLJTeen chats with debut author and choral singer Emily Kiebel about her novel Serenade, which focuses on a teen overcoming her grief at her father’s death while learning that she comes from a long line of sirens.

Beyond Words Grant Winners Announced

Beyond Words

Two libraries devastated by fire can now begin the process of rebuilding their schools and communities thanks to the commitment of Dollar General and the AASL Beyond Words Catastrophic Grant awards.

Eisner Foundation Builds Graphic Novel Collections and Programming

Will Eisner

Great news for Ypsilanti District Library and Lewis and Clack Library—both have received grants from the Will and Ann Eisner Family Foundation for their graphic novel collections and programming.

SLJTeen Does Las Vegas and Lives to Tell the Tale | ALA 2014 Highlights

Fierce Reads

SLJTeen editor Dodie Ownes highlights her favorite events and programs at the ALA Annual Conference in Las Vegas.

Contests, Awards, and Giveaways for Librarians Serving Teens

DUC art books

A roundup of free resources, creative programming ideas, and the chance to nominate an outstanding community member or institution for the National Medal of Honor.

Constructing a Digital School Library Collection in the “Race to the Top” | Tech Tidbits

final_efuelingstation

Colorado school librarian Phil Goerner shares how his team will be initiating a Learning Technology Plan to create a digital district library using funds received from a Race to the Top grant.

Veronica Roth in Conversation with Alex London | BookCon 2014

Veronica Roth Alex London

Two stars of the YA book world, the “Divergent” series’ Veronica Roth and the “Proxy” series’ Alex London, joined a packed room of wildly enthusiastic fans at BookCon 2014 on the main event stage of the Javits Center in New York City on May 31.

Teens Review Latest from Cremer, ‘One Man Guy’, ‘One Last Kiss’, and More

One Man Guy

Need to find something new to put in the hands of Downton Abbey followers? Love by the Morning Star is just the ticket. Andrea Cremer’s steampunk/alternative history title will delight fans. And check out a haunting readalike for Lauren Oliver’s Before I Fall called My Last Kiss.

Teens Review the Latest from Armentrout, Caletti, and More

Don't Look Back

In Don’t Look Back, Sam desperately tries to regain her memory, while in The Last Forever, Tessa struggles not to lose hers. Teens weigh in with second takes on Noggin and Sekret.

Free Smithsonian Online Education Conference On April 9

Smithsonian

The Smithsonian Center for Learning and Digital Access is hosting a free online education conference on April 9 focusing on the “Citizen Science: A Watershed Study” program, in which Washington, D.C., high school students explored the Anacostia Watershed.