Google+

July 30, 2014

Subscribe to SLJ
Dodie Ownes

About Dodie Ownes

Dodie Ownes left the glamorous world of retrospective conversion and disco to jump on the library vendor train. Since then, she has been learning at the feet of the masters about all things library. Dodie lives in Golden, Colorado, where even the sign which arches the main street says "Howdy."

Dollars Invested in Teen Library Services Pay Off

IMLS logo

According to a 2011 Pew report, 72 percent of 16-17-year-olds used the public library in the previous year. This new report from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) will provide the fuel teen librarians need to convince library stakeholders that dollars invested in teens are well spent.

AASL Approves New Mission Statement of Empowerment

AASL logo

At the 2014 ALA Annual Conference in Las Vegas, the AASL Board of Directors unanimously voted to approve a new mission statement for the association that more accurately reflects its goals and practices.

SLJTeen Chats with Emily Kiebel, Debut Author of ‘Serenade’

Serenade

SLJTeen chats with debut author and choral singer Emily Kiebel about her novel Serenade, which focuses on a teen overcoming her grief at her father’s death while learning that she comes from a long line of sirens.

Beyond Words Grant Winners Announced

Beyond Words

Two libraries devastated by fire can now begin the process of rebuilding their schools and communities thanks to the commitment of Dollar General and the AASL Beyond Words Catastrophic Grant awards.

Eisner Foundation Builds Graphic Novel Collections and Programming

Will Eisner

Great news for Ypsilanti District Library and Lewis and Clack Library—both have received grants from the Will and Ann Eisner Family Foundation for their graphic novel collections and programming.

SLJTeen Does Las Vegas and Lives to Tell the Tale | ALA 2014 Highlights

Fierce Reads

SLJTeen editor Dodie Ownes highlights her favorite events and programs at the ALA Annual Conference in Las Vegas.

Contests, Awards, and Giveaways for Librarians Serving Teens

DUC art books

A roundup of free resources, creative programming ideas, and the chance to nominate an outstanding community member or institution for the National Medal of Honor.

Constructing a Digital School Library Collection in the “Race to the Top” | Tech Tidbits

final_efuelingstation

Colorado school librarian Phil Goerner shares how his team will be initiating a Learning Technology Plan to create a digital district library using funds received from a Race to the Top grant.

Veronica Roth in Conversation with Alex London | BookCon 2014

Veronica Roth Alex London

Two stars of the YA book world, the “Divergent” series’ Veronica Roth and the “Proxy” series’ Alex London, joined a packed room of wildly enthusiastic fans at BookCon 2014 on the main event stage of the Javits Center in New York City on May 31.

Teens Review Latest from Cremer, ‘One Man Guy’, ‘One Last Kiss’, and More

One Man Guy

Need to find something new to put in the hands of Downton Abbey followers? Love by the Morning Star is just the ticket. Andrea Cremer’s steampunk/alternative history title will delight fans. And check out a haunting readalike for Lauren Oliver’s Before I Fall called My Last Kiss.

Teens Review the Latest from Armentrout, Caletti, and More

Don't Look Back

In Don’t Look Back, Sam desperately tries to regain her memory, while in The Last Forever, Tessa struggles not to lose hers. Teens weigh in with second takes on Noggin and Sekret.

Free Smithsonian Online Education Conference On April 9

Smithsonian

The Smithsonian Center for Learning and Digital Access is hosting a free online education conference on April 9 focusing on the “Citizen Science: A Watershed Study” program, in which Washington, D.C., high school students explored the Anacostia Watershed.

‘Dear Nobody’: SLJ Chats with Coeditors Gillian McCain and Legs McNeil

Dear Nobody

Dear Nobody: The Real Life Diary of Mary Rose focuses on the reality of being a teen with cystic fibrosis. Coeditors Gillian McCain and Legs McNeil talked to SLJ about what drove them to bring Mary Rose’s story to life.

United for Libraries Now Accepting Applications for Baker & Taylor Awards

United for Libraries logo

Given annually since 2000, the Baker & Taylor Awards have recognized more than 40 groups for outstanding efforts to support their library. Applications for the $1000 awards for outstanding programming or projects are due May 1.

The Debut: Bethany Hagen Talks About ‘Landry Park’

Landry Park

Bethany Hagen’s day job is in teen services for Johnson County (KS) Library; she can now add debut novelist to her resume. Her book, Landry Park, which pits the gentry against the poor, has been referred to as “Gone with the Nuclear Wind.”

Luis Herrera, Director San Francisco Public Library, Receives 2014 Sullivan Award

31914luisherrara

The American Library Association (ALA) has announced that the 2014 Peggy Sullivan Award for Public Library Administrators Supporting Services to Children has been awarded to Luis Herrera, San Francisco Public Library’s city librarian.

The Debut: Leslye Walton on ‘The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender’

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender

SLJTeen caught up with Lesley Walton to discuss her magical realism-infused debut novel, The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender. The author had to do a lot of research sitting in cafes, eating croissants and pain du chocolat.

77 Things You Absolutely Have to Do Before You Finish College | Zest Giveaway

77 Things you absolutely have to do before you finish college

Sage advice for college students could net participants a free copy of Zest Books’s 77 Things You Absolutely Have to Do Before You Finish College. I’m not sure “learn how to cook spaghetti” is one of them.

YALSA’s Teen Tech Week Tips

TTW14_bkmk_300x200

Teen Tech Week (March 9-15), DIY@your library is almost upon us. YALSA shared ten tips for making the experience great for your teens, your library, and you.

Teens Review ’17 & Gone’, ‘Landry Park’, and Whaley’s Latest

Noggin Whaley

A teen slips into a dangerous mental state after seeing an apparition of a girl who has gone missing in 17 & Gone; Landry Park introduces a future world in which the gentry hearken back to the Victorian era; and award-winning John Corey Whaley knocks another one out of the park with Noggin.