February 19, 2018

The Advocate's Toolbox

Candlewick Showcase and Giveaway

Beyond the people I work with and the people this blog has led me to get to know, by far the best aspect of blogging for TLT is the constant influx of books. All of the books I get end up going back out the door in some fashion—to teen readers I know, to classroom […]

YA A to Z: Boarding Schools, a guest post by Tawny Stokes

It’s the fourth week of January, which means we’re discussing the Letter B in YA A to Z. Today we are talking about boarding schools with author Tawny Stokes. You can find out more about YA A to Z here. School. That regular staple in almost every teen’s life.  It’s a place rife with drama […]

Book Review: Love, Hate and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

Publisher’s description In this unforgettable debut novel, an Indian-American Muslim teen copes with Islamophobia, cultural divides among peers and parents, and a reality she can neither explain nor escape.  American-born seventeen-year-old Maya Aziz is torn between worlds. There’s the proper one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter: attending a college close to their […]

New and forthcoming YA and MG to know about

Books, books, and more books! My neighbors probably wonder what exactly goes on over here at the house where UPS of FedEx stops nearly every day. The following are the books that have arrived here in the past few weeks. I will be reviewing many of them in the upcoming months on TLT. See something […]

Take 5: New YA Booklists You’ll Want to See (January 2018)

2018 YA Diverse Books: http://www.epicreads.com/blog/2018-diverse-ya-books/
Notable Books for Teens about the Arab World: http://diversityinya.tumblr.com/post/90356654158/notable-novels-for-teens-about-the-arab-world
11 Books about the South Asian Dia…

A Collection of Tweets on the Discussion of YA Books Set in College/Post High School

Over the past few days, there has been an ongoing discussion on Twitter about the need for YA books that highlight the post high school life and whether or not they should be marketed as YA. I tweeted a lot about it and have compiled those tweets below. I am also working on putting together […]

Sunday Reflections: That Delicate Balance Between Quality Patron Services and Employee Personal Boundaries

Please note: This post will share a bunch of stories of patron interactions in public libraries and no names or locations will be shared. Some of them are stories from friends, social media, and my own. None of them will reveal that communities in which they occurred to help protect all parties involved. The man […]

#ReadForChange: Confronting Racial Injustice with Justyce in Nic Stone’s Dear Martin, a guest post by Marie Marquardt

Teen Librarian Toolbox is excited to be partnering with Marie Marquardt for her #ReadForChange project. Hop on over to this post to learn more about the initiative. Today, she and Nic Stone join us for a conversation about racial injustice and Stone’s phenomenal debut novel, Dear Martin.    It’s so amazing to be living in this time […]

Friday Finds: January 19, 2018

This Week at TLT So, You’ve Just Tweeted That Nobody Uses Public Libraries Anymore . . . YA A to Z: Bullying by Michelle Biwer Penguin Young Readers Showcase and Giveaway Book Review: Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson MakerSpace: DIY Metal Stamping (A metal stamping kit review) Anger, inspiration, and the stories we tell, a […]

Post-It Note Reviews of Elementary and Middle Grade Books

Now that I work in an elementary library, I’m reading a lot more titles for younger readers. Rather than review all of them like I usually do, I’m stealing Karen’s Post-it note review idea and sharing the titles with you that way. It’s been super interesting to me to see what the students (grades K-5) […]

Anger, inspiration, and the stories we tell, a guest post by Marieke Nijkamp

Before I Let Go tells the story of two girls in the arctic heart of Alaska. Two girls who were best friends, who were discovering who they could be, who were each other’s center of gravity. It tells of  grief and ice, of mystery and mental illness. And it was, at least in part, born […]

MakerSpace: DIY Metal Stamping (A metal stamping kit review)

Jewelry making has been pretty popular in our Teen MakerSpace, and I really wanted to give metal stamping a try. However, the individual components always seemed more expensive then something I wanted to spend just to try something out. Fortunately, I found a complete metal stamping kit at Target for only $24.99, and that seemed […]

Book Review: Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson

Publisher’s Book Description: New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E. Lockhart. Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded […]

Penguin Young Readers Showcase and Giveaway

Beyond the people I work with and the people this blog has led me to get to know, by far the best aspect of blogging for TLT is the constant influx of books. All of the books I get end up going back out the door in some fashion—to teen readers I know, to classroom […]

Penguin Young Readers Showcase and Giveaway

Beyond the people I work with and the people this blog has led me to get to know, by far the best aspect of blogging for TLT is the constant influx of books. All of the books I get end up going back out the door in some fashion—to teen readers I know, to classroom […]

YA A to Z: Bullying by Michelle Biwer

According to the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), about 20% of students ages 12-18 reported being bullied in 2015. Notably, those statistics skyrocket for LGBTQ students. In 2013, 70.8% of LGBTQ students were verbally bullied because of their sexual orientation and 54.5% were bullied due to their gender expression (National School Climate Survey, 2015). […]

YA A to Z: Bullying by Michelle Biwer

According to the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), about 20% of students ages 12-18 reported being bullied in 2015. Notably, those statistics skyrocket for LGBTQ students. In 2013, 70.8% of LGBTQ students were verbally bullied because of their sexual orientation and 54.5% were bullied due to their gender expression (National School Climate Survey, 2015). […]

So, You’ve Just Tweeted That Nobody Uses Public Libraries Anymore . . .

Hi There, So, you have just tweeted that nobody uses public libraries anymore and we don’t need to fund them, but I’m going to stop you right there. First of all, I’m going to assume that what you really mean is that you don’t use your public library anymore so because you don’t, you assume […]

Friday Finds: January 12, 2018

This Week at TLT YA A to Z: Alcoholism, In Real Life and in Real Fiction, by by L.B. Schulman YA A to Z: Alzheimer’s As a Means to an End, a guest post by L. B. Schulman An Open Letter to Logan Paul Book Review: Nice Try, Jane Sinner by Lianne Oelke YA A […]

YA A to Z: Let’s Talk About . . . Aromantic and Asexual, a guest post by Bridgette Johnson

It’s the second week of January, which means we’re discussing the Letter A in YA A to Z. Today we are talking about aromantic and asexual with librarian Bridgette Johnson. You can find out more about YA A to Z here. Before we delve too deep into our topic, let’s have some super basic broad […]