May 26, 2018

The Advocate's Toolbox

Review of the Day: Seeing Into Tomorrow by Richard Wright and Nina Crews

Seeing Into Tomorrow Haiku by Richard Wright Biography and illustrations by Nina Crews Millbrook Press (a division of Lerner) $19.99 ISBN: 978-1-5124-1865-1 Ages 6-10 On shelves now I hate that phrase, “A picture’s worth a thousand words”. It’s trite. Simplistic. And horrendously true. Pictures have power. Take the story that’s been handed to us about […]

With My Hands: Poems About Making Things

With My Hands: Poems About Making Things Written by Amy Ludwig VanDerwater Illustrated by Lou Fancher & Steve Johnson Published in 2018 by Clarion Books ISBN 978-0-544-31340-8 Grades PreK – 3 Book Review “I am making / something new / with my hands/ my head / my heart. That’s what makers do.” The act of […]

The Sun and Her Flowers by Rupi Kaur | SLJ Review

Kaur, author of the immensely popular Milk and Honey, writes and sketches in the same plain, honest, and shattering style about healing.

Axel Scheffler’s Flip Flap Ocean | Touch and Go

A new entrée in a popular series will delight fans.

World Make Way: New Poems Inspired by Art from The Metropolitan Museum of Art

World Make Way: New Poems Inspired by Art from The Metropolitan Museum of Art Edited by Lee Bennett Hopkins Published by Abrams Books for Young Readers with The Metropolitan Museum of Art ISBN: 978-1-4197-2845-7 Grades 4 and Up Book Review “Painting is poetry that is seen rather than felt, and poetry is painting that is […]

NCTE 2018 Notable Poetry List

25 exceptional works of poetry and two verse novels made this year’s NCTE Notable Poetry List.

Sarah Crossan’s “Moonrise” | An Interview

In a poetic exploration of the justice system, family ties, and forgiveness, Crossan delivers a poignant story that will leave readers with much to ponder.

Finding A Voice Through Poetry | New and Noteworthy YA Novels

A trio of recently published young adult verse novels offer portraits of teens who find their voice through the written word.

A Place to Start a Family: Poems About Creatures That Build

A Place to Start a Family: Poems About Creatures That Build Written by David L. Harrison and Illustrated by Giles Laroche Published by Charlesbridge in 2018 ISBN 978-1-58089-748-8 Grades PK-6 Book Review Underground, on land, on water, and in the air: animals build shelter for themselves and their offspring. In their latest collaboration author David […]

Poetry Tools to Put in Your Pocket: Activities, apps, and online resources for National Poetry Month

19 sites, apps, and more for Poetry Month.

This article was published in School Library Journal's April 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Juan Felipe Herrera’s Latest Is a “Blue-Cheesy” Triumph of Poetry & Storytelling

The former Poet Laureate of the United States reveals deep truths while discussing his latest collection for young people.

Check Out SLJ’s National Poetry Month Pinterest Board

Teen librarian Dawn Abron curates a poetry-themed Pinterest board filled with ideas for programming, displays, and more.

Book Review: The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo

Publisher’s description Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing #ownvoices novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth. Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew […]

Review of the Day: Can I Touch Your Hair? by Irene Latham & Charles Waters

Can I Touch Your Hair? Poems of Race, Mistakes and Friendship By Irene Latham & Charles Waters Illustrated by Sean Qualls & Selina Alko Carolrhoda Books (a division of Lerner) $17.99 ISBN: 978-1-5124-0442-5 Ages 6 and up On shelves now For a long time, maybe as long as children’s books have been published in America, […]

9 Poetry Books by Master Wordsmiths: Nikki Grimes, Andrea Davis Pinkney, & Others

As part of our continuing coverage of Black History Month, here are a number of stunning poetry collections by Black women poets and illustrators.

Unplugging and Listening with Naomi Shihab Nye

The acclaimed poet’s latest collection is a stunning meditation on place, paying attention, and keeping a “Humanity First” mentality.

This article was published in School Library Journal's March 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut

Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut Written by Derrick D. Barnes and Illustrated by Gordon C. James Published in 2017 by Bolden, Agate Publishing ISBN 978-1-57284-224-3 Grades 1 – 6 A 2018 Charlotte Huck Award for Outstanding Fiction Recommended Title Book Review “You came in as a lump of clay, a blank, canvas, a […]

SLJ’s Poetry Section Debuts with 13 Buzzworthy Collections

Our first-ever quarterly poetry section features the stellar lyrics of Nikki Giovanni, Naomi Shihab Nye, and others.

This article was published in School Library Journal's January 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Love and I am Loved

Love Written by Matt de la Peña Illustrated by Loren Long Published by G. P. Putnam’s Sons, 2018 ISBN # 978-1-5247-4091-7   Book Review Love is present in the most subtle, yet remarkable ways in this utterly moving picturebook by Newbery Award winning author Matt de la Peña and bestselling illustrator Loren Long. From the […]

Round

Round Written by Joyce Sidman and illustrated by Taeeun Yoo Published in 2017 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt ISBN 978-0-544-38761-4 Grades PreK – 6 Book Review In Joyce Sidman’s latest nonfiction picture book, a young girl professes, “I love round things,” and so launches a poetic exploration of all things round. Immersive mixed media illustrations crafted […]