June 21, 2018

The Advocate's Toolbox

What lies beneath

Pursuant to that Trump biography, over on Facebook Sarah Hamburg told me about a really perceptive article about biographies for young people. “George Washington and Slavery: Going Beyond Picture Books to Teach About Our Flawed Founders,”* written by my erstwhile Child_Lit colleague Ebony Elizabeth Thomas along with James Joshua Coleman and Lindsay R. Cicchino, asks–and […]

Great Books: Summer Adventures

These summer-themed picture books focus on getting outdoors, nurturing imaginations, and savoring time spent with family and friends.

Yuyi Morales Has an Immigration Story to Tell, Her Own | SLJ Day of Dialog 2018

Yuyi Morales closed out School Library Journal’s Day of Dialog with this keynote address.

Picture Book Police Officers

Not all kids see the police as community stewards, but picture books do.

This article was published in School Library Journal's May 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Great Books: Things That Go!

Peruse these recently published selections to rev up your picture book shelves, create an attention-grabbing display, or put together a fun-packed storytime.

With My Hands: Poems About Making Things

With My Hands: Poems About Making Things Written by Amy Ludwig VanDerwater Illustrated by Lou Fancher & Steve Johnson Published in 2018 by Clarion Books ISBN 978-0-544-31340-8 Grades PreK – 3 Book Review “I am making / something new / with my hands/ my head / my heart. That’s what makers do.” The act of […]

20 Books for Young Readers To Celebrate Asian Pacific American Heritage Month & Year-Round

Looking for titles to highlight in May for Asian Pacific American Heritage Month? These 20 works, from recent award winners to debut middle grade outings, cover a diverse array of genres, time periods, and formats.

20 Picture Books About Empowerment, Friendship, & More | May 2018 Xpress Reviews

From furry creatures to quirky tales, these works for the youngest of readers will delight and charm.

This article was published in School Library Journal's May 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

The story on the wall

Seeing the CSK exhibit at the NCCIL is making me remember again the vogue for illustration as fine art we had in the 1980s:  from a baby boom arose lots of picture books, lots of children’s bookstores, and (he gestures vaguely towards) developments in five-color printing that encouraged big, handsome pictures in big, handsome books. And […]

Texas Time

What a wonderful time Richard and I had in Abilene! We were at the National Center for Children’s Illustrated Literature (still jeez to the name, but I did learn its acronym is pronounced nickel and not ‘encil) to see a wonderful show, and quite a haul of original art from Coretta Scott King Award winners […]

Review of the Day: A House That Once Was by Julie Fogliano, ill. Lane Smith

A House That Once Was By Julie Fogliano Illustrated by Lane Smith Roaring Brook Press (an imprint of Macmillan) $18.99 ISBN: 978-1-62672-314-6 Ages 4-7 On shelves May 1st When I was growing up there was an empty house across the street. A melancholy, haunted structure that seemed to wear its sadness like a badge. No […]

Every Day Is Earth Day | Books to Celebrate

Titles to introduce environmental themes, nurture an appreciation of nature, and launch creative projects.

A Place to Start a Family: Poems About Creatures That Build

A Place to Start a Family: Poems About Creatures That Build Written by David L. Harrison and Illustrated by Giles Laroche Published by Charlesbridge in 2018 ISBN 978-1-58089-748-8 Grades PK-6 Book Review Underground, on land, on water, and in the air: animals build shelter for themselves and their offspring. In their latest collaboration author David […]

Western stars light up the sky

Later this week Richard and I are going west to Abilene to see the exhibition of Coretta Scott King Award winners at the National Center for Children’s Illustrated Literature (also known as NCCIL, thank heavens). There will be a bash to which we are grateful to be invited, and the exhibit of some one hundred original […]

Between the Lines: How Ernie Barnes Went from the Football Field to the Art Gallery

Between the Lines: How Ernie Barnes Went from the Football Field to the Art Gallery Written by Sandra Neil Wallace and Illustrated by Bryan Collier Published in 2018 by Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers ISBN 978-1-4814-4387-6 Grades K-5 Book Review “Ernest looked around his neighborhood. It no longer appeared ordinary. In the movement […]

Review of the Day: It’s Springtime, Mr. Squirrel! by Sebastian Meschenmoser

It’s Springtime, Mr. Squirrel! By Sebastian Meschenmoser Translated by David Henry Wilson NorthSouth Books ISBN: 978-0-7358-4310-3 $18.95 Ages 4-7 On shelves now. There is an old joke here in America regarding the Germans and their sense of humor. Mainly, that they haven’t got one. I’ve heard everything from Patton Oswalt routines to old commercials that […]

Islandborn

Islandborn/Lola: Edicion en espanol de ISLANDBORN Written by Junot Díaz,  illustrated by Leo Espinosa Published by Dial Books ISBN:  978-0735229860 (English)/ ISBN:  978-0525552819 (Spanish) All Ages Book Review “Every kid in Lola’s school was from somewhere else. Hers was the school of faraway places.” But when her teacher asks her class to draw a picture of […]

2018 Pura Belpre Illustrator Award: La Princesa and the Pea

2018 Pura Belpre Illustrator Award Winner La Princesa and the Pea Written by Susan Middleton Elya and Illustrated by Juana Martinez-Neal Published by G.P. Putnam’s Sons in 2017 ISBN 978-0-399-25156-6 Grades PK – 4   Book Review This retelling of the classic tale “The Princess and the Pea” has South American flair and a unique […]

The Word Collector

The Word Collector Written and Illustrated by Peter Reynolds 2018 Orchard Books ISBN 978-0-545-86502-9 Grades K-5 Book Review Fans of Peter Reynolds’ Ish, The Dot, and Happy Dreamer, will be delighted by his latest picturebook, The Word Collector. Reynolds continues his trend of crafting seemingly simple text with significant and lasting meaning, this time with […]

New Picture Books from Dav Pilkey, Ellie Sandall, & More | March 2018 Xpress Reviews

A “Scaredy Kat” finds some courage; a young dragon dancer celebrates the Lunar New Year; and a black family tackles the tough topic of police brutality with their children in this month’s Xpress.

This article was published in School Library Journal's March 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.