February 24, 2018

The Advocate's Toolbox

The Creation of Mary’s Monster | A Conversation with Lita Judge

A multimedia exploration of the extraordinary new novel by Lita Judge.

Amazing Animals, From the Pectinator to the Sea Sparkle

Featuring mesmerizing facts, dazzling visuals, and fun-to-browse formats, these nonfiction offerings will grab readers and inspire young naturalists.

What Do I Teach Readers Tomorrow? | Professional Shelf

A well-conceived guide to teaching nonfiction, chock-full of book suggestions

A “Man Utterly Beyond Category” | Tonya Bolden on Frederick Douglass

Two hundred years after the birth of the orator, statesman, and human rights activist, the author offers a close look at his life and achievements.

The Life and Times of Frederick Douglass | A Bibliography

A selected bibliography in celebration of the 200th anniversary of the birth of Frederick Douglass.

Sparking the Conversation Through Graphic Novels

New and forthcoming graphic novels address contemporary social issues.

A Little Bit Of This… Hybrids | Great Books

Fans of Jeff Kinney, Dav Pilkey, and Renée Russell have spoken: hybrid fiction is here to stay.

This article was published in School Library Journal's January 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

A Passion for Words: Three Bibliophiles Who Changed the World

Three 2017 picture book bios present a uniquely envisioned portrait of its subject, while also celebrating the power of books to express ideas, rouse imaginations, and inspire discussion.

Digging In: Underground with Nature Books

Explore all the wondrous ups and downs of nature—earth and life science has never been so fascinating.

Dark and Inventive: New Retellings of Familiar Tales | Fall Fantasy 2017

There is plenty of light fare to tempt fantasy readers, but for those who are ready to enter the Dark Forest three new works open the way.

The Power of Possibility: Dreamers Who Changed the World

New inspiring picture book biographies introduce individuals who fought against impossible odds, and persevered to achieve magnificent things.

The Land of Fire and Ice | Iceland’s “Upstart Island”

Author and scientist Loree Griffin Burns reports on a trip to Surtsey with a group of Icelandic scientists.

Choosing Kindness Online | Tips & Tools

Tips and tools to create a culture of kindness online.

Puberty, Consent, and Sexuality: A Few New Titles

A year ago, I read 75 books about puberty and sexuality for a “Focus On” article for School Library Journal. You’re welcome.

Sim Cell by Touch Press | Touch and Go

A new app from Touch Press puts students inside a cell on a mission.

The NCTE Book Awards: Opportunities for Collaboration

Ever heard of John Amos Comenius or Charlotte Huck? Maybe not, but you’ll remember them now.

They’ve Got Moxie | In Conversation with Celia C. Pérez and Jennifer Mathieu

Two authors geek out on Sassy, punk bands, zines—and their new books.

Thought-Provoking Picture Books | A Selection of 2017 Titles for Older Readers

Short on text and provocative in theme, these picture books are guaranteed to engage students into middle school and beyond.

Dialing Up the Creepy | New Graphic Titles for Teens

This selection of new and forthcoming graphic novels range in subject and tone—from mildly creepy to spine-tingling.

Falling for Fall: Great Books To Celebrate the Season

These fun-to-share picture books with exuberant artwork accentuate the sense of wonder inherent in nature’s transformations.