April 19, 2018

The Advocate's Toolbox

Frankenstein200: An Interactive Story & STEM Experience | Touch and Go

Although published two hundred years ago, Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein still generates questions concerning the ethics and boundaries of scientific exploration. Arizona State University’s Frankenstein Bicentennial Project celebrates the novel’s continued currency with an assortment of programs intended “to engage the public around issues in science, technology, and creative responsibility.” Middle schoolers are invited to explore these complexities via the free Frankenstein200, “an interactive story experience” designed to spark curiosity and encourage critical thinking in STEM topics, including artificial intelligence, robotics, […]

Sarah Crossan’s “Moonrise” | An Interview

In a poetic exploration of the justice system, family ties, and forgiveness, Crossan delivers a poignant story that will leave readers with much to ponder.

The Buzz on Bees | The Hive, The Honey, The Hope

Share these delightful resources with readers to bring a positive awareness about one of our most productive and important insects.

Every Day Is Earth Day | Books to Celebrate

Titles to introduce environmental themes, nurture an appreciation of nature, and launch creative projects.

Up Close and Personal with Children’s Book Artists

A set of sterling online resources bring book illustrators into the classroom for look at technique and material, along with some engaging personal stories.

Black Girls’ Literacies: Merging Theory and Practice

Reporting on the “state of the union” for Black girls and women in our society, the author offers suggestions on how educators can support them.

Empowering Girls and Young Women

Books to inspire young women as they pursue their dreams.

What’s in a Name? A Conversation With Juana Martinez-Neal

Juana Martinez-Neal, the recipient of the 2018 Pura Belpré Award for illustration, has a new book and it’s one that sure to inspire kids to ask about the stories behind their names.

Through the Lens | Great Books About Photography

Introducing books about visual artists that highlight myriad photographic styles and genres.

The Creation of Mary’s Monster | A Conversation with Lita Judge

A multimedia exploration of the extraordinary new novel by Lita Judge.

Amazing Animals, From the Pectinator to the Sea Sparkle

Featuring mesmerizing facts, dazzling visuals, and fun-to-browse formats, these nonfiction offerings will grab readers and inspire young naturalists.

What Do I Teach Readers Tomorrow? | Professional Shelf

A well-conceived guide to teaching nonfiction, chock-full of book suggestions

A “Man Utterly Beyond Category” | Tonya Bolden on Frederick Douglass

Two hundred years after the birth of the orator, statesman, and human rights activist, the author offers a close look at his life and achievements.

The Life and Times of Frederick Douglass | A Bibliography

A selected bibliography in celebration of the 200th anniversary of the birth of Frederick Douglass.

Sparking the Conversation Through Graphic Novels

New and forthcoming graphic novels address contemporary social issues.

A Little Bit Of This… Hybrids | Great Books

Fans of Jeff Kinney, Dav Pilkey, and Renée Russell have spoken: hybrid fiction is here to stay.

This article was published in School Library Journal's January 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

A Passion for Words: Three Bibliophiles Who Changed the World

Three 2017 picture book bios present a uniquely envisioned portrait of its subject, while also celebrating the power of books to express ideas, rouse imaginations, and inspire discussion.

Digging In: Underground with Nature Books

Explore all the wondrous ups and downs of nature—earth and life science has never been so fascinating.

Dark and Inventive: New Retellings of Familiar Tales | Fall Fantasy 2017

There is plenty of light fare to tempt fantasy readers, but for those who are ready to enter the Dark Forest three new works open the way.

The Power of Possibility: Dreamers Who Changed the World

New inspiring picture book biographies introduce individuals who fought against impossible odds, and persevered to achieve magnificent things.