March 21, 2018

The Advocate's Toolbox

Check Out SLJ’s National Poetry Month Pinterest Board

Teen librarian Dawn Abron curates a poetry-themed Pinterest board filled with ideas for programming, displays, and more.


Islandborn/Lola: Edicion en espanol de ISLANDBORN Written by Junot Díaz,  illustrated by Leo Espinosa Published by Dial Books ISBN:  978-0735229860 (English)/ ISBN:  978-0525552819 (Spanish) All Ages Book Review “Every kid in Lola’s school was from somewhere else. Hers was the school of faraway places.” But when her teacher asks her class to draw a picture of […]

How To Run a Successful Kids Book Club

Start small. Lead by letting go. Read more tips from experts who run book clubs for kids of all ages.

This article was published in School Library Journal's March 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Black Girls’ Literacies: Merging Theory and Practice

Reporting on the “state of the union” for Black girls and women in our society, the author offers suggestions on how educators can support them.

Through the Lens | Great Books About Photography

Introducing books about visual artists that highlight myriad photographic styles and genres.

2018 Pura Belpre Illustrator Award: La Princesa and the Pea

2018 Pura Belpre Illustrator Award Winner La Princesa and the Pea Written by Susan Middleton Elya and Illustrated by Juana Martinez-Neal Published by G.P. Putnam’s Sons in 2017 ISBN 978-0-399-25156-6 Grades PK – 4   Book Review This retelling of the classic tale “The Princess and the Pea” has South American flair and a unique […]

A Lively Database Instruction Game Gets an Upgrade with Digital Badges

A high school librarian improves her popular Search App Smackdown! challenge with badges and breakouts.

Trolling An Underwater Ecosystem: Tinybop Inc.’s “Coral Reef” | Touch and Go

The 10th entry in Tinybop Inc.’s “Explorer’s Library” is now available.

The Word Collector

The Word Collector Written and Illustrated by Peter Reynolds 2018 Orchard Books ISBN 978-0-545-86502-9 Grades K-5 Book Review Fans of Peter Reynolds’ Ish, The Dot, and Happy Dreamer, will be delighted by his latest picturebook, The Word Collector. Reynolds continues his trend of crafting seemingly simple text with significant and lasting meaning, this time with […]

Incarcerated Teens Write Graphic Novels

Students at Birchwood High School, a South Carolina juvenile justice facility, wrote “AIDS in the End Zone” and “Shootout: A Tale from the Streets.”

NEA Focuses Read Across America on Diversity Not Dr. Seuss

With more emphasis being placed on diverse children’s books and scholars pointing to racist illustrations and characters in Dr. Seuss’ work, the national reading celebration is moving away from the Seuss canon to highlighting different authors and diverse and contemporary titles.

Partnership Prepares Teens for College

A teacher and librarian team up to give high schoolers better research and presentation skills.

This article was published in School Library Journal's February 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

2018 Newbery Award winner: Hello, Universe

2018 Newbery Award Winner: Hello, Universe Written by Erin Entrada Kelly Published by Greenwillow Books, 2017 ISBN #978-0-06-241415-1   Book Review   The start of summer vacation should be the bright spot in 11-year old Virgil Salinas’s year. But shy, insecure, and misunderstood, he only sees it as the official notice of his Grand Failure […]

Bringing Black Lives Matter Movement to School

Educators navigated tough conversations and highlighted issues such as systemic racism during the national Black Lives Matter at School week of action.

Educators Start #ArmMeWith Social Media Movement

Educators start #ArmMeWith movement after presidents suggests having teachers carry guns could be the answer to school shootings.

Orbis Pictus Honor Book – Fault Lines in the Constitution: The Framers, Their Fights, and the Flaws That Affect Us Today

Fault Lines in the Constitution: The Framers, Their Fights, and the Flaws That Affect us Today By Cynthia Levinson and Sanford Levinson Published by Peachtree Publishers, 2017, ISBN 978-1-56145-945-2 Grades 6-Up Book Review On this President’s Day, it is important to note that “not one of our first eight presidents had any real power” (p. […]

The Creation of Mary’s Monster | A Conversation with Lita Judge

A multimedia exploration of the extraordinary new novel by Lita Judge.

Amazing Animals, From the Pectinator to the Sea Sparkle

Featuring mesmerizing facts, dazzling visuals, and fun-to-browse formats, these nonfiction offerings will grab readers and inspire young naturalists.

What Do I Teach Readers Tomorrow? | Professional Shelf

A well-conceived guide to teaching nonfiction, chock-full of book suggestions

2017-2018 Children’s & Young Adult Book Awards

The start of the calendar year is always an exciting time for children’s and young adult literature, as the American Library Association (ALA) announces its Youth Media Awards. Below you will find not only links to the 2018 ALA award-winning and honor books that we blogged about, but links to the many books we blogged […]