February 18, 2018

The Advocate's Toolbox

Great Books: Sweet Treats for Valentine’s Day

Warm up a brisk winter day by showcasing satisfying picture books that abound with sweet valentine wishes, affable hugs and kisses, and the heartfelt affection shared by family and friends.

The Life and Times of Frederick Douglass | A Bibliography

A selected bibliography in celebration of the 200th anniversary of the birth of Frederick Douglass.

Sparking the Conversation Through Graphic Novels

New and forthcoming graphic novels address contemporary social issues.

Stock Up On Sports Titles | Fiction & Nonfiction for an Olympic Season

With the arrival of the 2018 Olympics educators can anticipate a spiked interest in sports.

A Little Bit Of This… Hybrids | Great Books

Fans of Jeff Kinney, Dav Pilkey, and Renée Russell have spoken: hybrid fiction is here to stay.

This article was published in School Library Journal's January 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

10 Books To Read After “The Hate U Give”

Ten more YA titles that explore the lives of Black teens, police brutality, and systemic racism.

13 Book-to-Screen Titles To Look for in 2018

A Wrinkle in Time, The Hate U Give, Paddington, and more are coming to a theater near you in the new year.

A Passion for Words: Three Bibliophiles Who Changed the World

Three 2017 picture book bios present a uniquely envisioned portrait of its subject, while also celebrating the power of books to express ideas, rouse imaginations, and inspire discussion.

Dark and Inventive: New Retellings of Familiar Tales | Fall Fantasy 2017

There is plenty of light fare to tempt fantasy readers, but for those who are ready to enter the Dark Forest three new works open the way.

The Power of Possibility: Dreamers Who Changed the World

New inspiring picture book biographies introduce individuals who fought against impossible odds, and persevered to achieve magnificent things.

Puberty, Consent, and Sexuality: A Few New Titles

A year ago, I read 75 books about puberty and sexuality for a “Focus On” article for School Library Journal. You’re welcome.

They’ve Got Moxie | In Conversation with Celia C. Pérez and Jennifer Mathieu

Two authors geek out on Sassy, punk bands, zines—and their new books.

Dialing Up the Creepy | New Graphic Titles for Teens

This selection of new and forthcoming graphic novels range in subject and tone—from mildly creepy to spine-tingling.

A New Season of “Nature” | On the Screen

The visually rich, compelling PBS Nature series returns this month for its 36th season, with episodes that are ready-made tie-ins for classrooms studies.

Falling for Fall: Great Books To Celebrate the Season

These fun-to-share picture books with exuberant artwork accentuate the sense of wonder inherent in nature’s transformations.

Imagining Peace

Three new books serving a range of grades will jump start #PeaceDay discussions on September 21.

If You Give a Kid a Story | Wordplay and Writing Prompts

Get your students’ creative juices flowing with these picture book prompts.

Smiles of Bibliophiles: Celebrating Books and Reading

Share these titles to celebrate the importance and empowerment of literacy and to set the tone for a book-loving school year.

The Skinny on Sharks: Scintillating Summer Reads

These high-interest nonfiction titles will keep kids reading throughout the summer, inspire interest in marine biology, and add depth to any STEM collection.

The Winds of Change | A New Series Explores the Intersection of Culture and Economy

An engaging new picture book series explores the intersection of culture and economy from the first coins to the Industrial Revolution.