June 21, 2018

The Advocate's Toolbox

Great Books: Summer Adventures

These summer-themed picture books focus on getting outdoors, nurturing imaginations, and savoring time spent with family and friends.

Summertime…and the Reading Is Easy

25 summer-themed titles for tweens and teens for reading all year ’round.

Get Busy! Fun with Interactive Books

Inject some entertaining challenges into your summer reading lists, programs, or displays with these puzzle, seek-and-find, and participatory storybooks.

“A More Perfect Nation” | Focus On

Books about U.S. Constitution, the Bill of Rights, and the social movements and court cases that have forced our nation to reexamine the “unalienable” rights afforded only to select citizens in the 18th century.

“Mary Shelley” and Her Creature Return to the Screen | Movie Review

The author has the spotlight all to herself in the latest film retelling of the origins of Frankenstein. SLJ reviews the recent biopic about the teen author.

Soccer: “The Beautiful Game” | A World Cup Bookshelf

The world’s most-viewed sporting event kicks off next month. Here are some books to have on your turf as the excitement builds.

Dinosaur Books You Can Sink Your Teeth Into

For many children, the interest in dinosaurs extends well beyond their first introductions. Expect this quartet of new titles to be devoured by enthusiasts.

Great Books: Things That Go!

Peruse these recently published selections to rev up your picture book shelves, create an attention-grabbing display, or put together a fun-packed storytime.

The Buzz on Bees | The Hive, The Honey, The Hope

Share these delightful resources with readers to bring a positive awareness about one of our most productive and important insects.

Every Day Is Earth Day | Books to Celebrate

Titles to introduce environmental themes, nurture an appreciation of nature, and launch creative projects.

Up Close and Personal with Children’s Book Artists

A set of sterling online resources bring book illustrators into the classroom for look at technique and material, along with some engaging personal stories.

Finding A Voice Through Poetry | New and Noteworthy YA Novels

A trio of recently published young adult verse novels offer portraits of teens who find their voice through the written word.

Empowering Girls and Young Women

Books to inspire young women as they pursue their dreams.

Through the Lens | Great Books About Photography

Introducing books about visual artists that highlight myriad photographic styles and genres.

Great Books: Sweet Treats for Valentine’s Day

Warm up a brisk winter day by showcasing satisfying picture books that abound with sweet valentine wishes, affable hugs and kisses, and the heartfelt affection shared by family and friends.

The Life and Times of Frederick Douglass | A Bibliography

A selected bibliography in celebration of the 200th anniversary of the birth of Frederick Douglass.

Sparking the Conversation Through Graphic Novels

New and forthcoming graphic novels address contemporary social issues.

Stock Up On Sports Titles | Fiction & Nonfiction for an Olympic Season

With the arrival of the 2018 Olympics educators can anticipate a spiked interest in sports.

A Little Bit Of This… Hybrids | Great Books

Fans of Jeff Kinney, Dav Pilkey, and Renée Russell have spoken: hybrid fiction is here to stay.

This article was published in School Library Journal's January 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

10 Books To Read After “The Hate U Give”

Ten more YA titles that explore the lives of Black teens, police brutality, and systemic racism.