February 18, 2018

The Advocate's Toolbox

The Creation of Mary’s Monster | A Conversation with Lita Judge

A multimedia exploration of the extraordinary new novel by Lita Judge.

Amazing Animals, From the Pectinator to the Sea Sparkle

Featuring mesmerizing facts, dazzling visuals, and fun-to-browse formats, these nonfiction offerings will grab readers and inspire young naturalists.

What Do I Teach Readers Tomorrow? | Professional Shelf

A well-conceived guide to teaching nonfiction, chock-full of book suggestions

9 Poetry Books by Master Wordsmiths: Nikki Grimes, Andrea Davis Pinkney, & Others

As part of our continuing coverage of Black History Month, here are a number of stunning poetry collections by Black women poets and illustrators.

Celebrate Black History Month Every Month with Picture Books

Created by titans of kid lit and debut authors alike, the selections featured on this list encompass the everyday and the fantastical.

World Languages Collection Development Resources for Teen Librarians by Michelle Biwer

A recent project at work led me to research how to find quality, recent books in world languages for children and young adults. The best resources I found that include books for teens are below. If you have any further suggestions please leave a comment, I would love to hear about it! Vendors: Overdrive: provides […]

Artie’s Magic Pencil | Touch and Go

An interactive adventure in which children help the protagonist move through a story while they exercise their fine-motor skills.

9 Fantasy Must-Reads Featuring Black Main Characters

From mermaids to Marvel tie-ins and more, the following middle grade and YA fantasy novels will fly off shelves.

ALA Office of Intellectual Freedom Launches New Policy Toolkit

The toolkit is a valuable resource for all libraries to help create or revise selection and reconsideration policy.

Great Books: Sweet Treats for Valentine’s Day

Warm up a brisk winter day by showcasing satisfying picture books that abound with sweet valentine wishes, affable hugs and kisses, and the heartfelt affection shared by family and friends.

A Sneak Peek At What’s New in Spanish-Language Publishing

The Northeast chapter of REFORMA had their second annual Spanish-language Book Buzz on Friday, January 12, with keynotes by authors Emma Otheguy and Ernesto Quiñónez. Here are some highlights.

History Has Its Eyes on Her: Biographies of women are a hot trend in children’s publishing

Betsy Bird on the state of women in kids’ books, with stellar titles on girls who run the world.

This article was published in School Library Journal's January 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Fiete Puzzle | Touch and Go

A new app from Ahoiii Entertainment offers children an opportunity to exercise their fine-motor and visual discrimination skills.

33 Titles To Jump-Start Black History Month

In an effort to make our coverage of Black History Month a more nuanced and valuable experience, we’ll be posting several related roundups throughout January and February.

6 Can’t-Miss Gems from 2017 | Adult Books 4 Teens

Sarah Hill presents some titles from last year to be aware of—and bids readers farewell.

A “Man Utterly Beyond Category” | Tonya Bolden on Frederick Douglass

Two hundred years after the birth of the orator, statesman, and human rights activist, the author offers a close look at his life and achievements.

The Life and Times of Frederick Douglass | A Bibliography

A selected bibliography in celebration of the 200th anniversary of the birth of Frederick Douglass.

Sparking the Conversation Through Graphic Novels

New and forthcoming graphic novels address contemporary social issues.

Stock Up On Sports Titles | Fiction & Nonfiction for an Olympic Season

With the arrival of the 2018 Olympics educators can anticipate a spiked interest in sports.

A Little Bit Of This… Hybrids | Great Books

Fans of Jeff Kinney, Dav Pilkey, and Renée Russell have spoken: hybrid fiction is here to stay.

This article was published in School Library Journal's January 2018 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.