February 23, 2018

The Advocate's Toolbox

Drum Roll, Please by Lisa Jenn Bigelow | SLJ Review

Get the latest SLJ reviews every month, subscribe today and save up to 35%.

redstarBIGELOW, Lisa Jenn. Drum Roll, Please. 320p. HarperCollins/Harper. Jun. 2018. Tr $16.99. ISBN 9780062791146.

Gr 5-8 –The day before 13-year-old drummer Melly heads to Camp Rockaway, her parents drop a bombshell: They’re getting divorced. Suddenly, the next two weeks become about more than just hanging out with her best friend Olivia, swimming in the lake, and playing the drums. In this sweet and sincere summer story, Melly confronts a whirlwind of feelings as she observes Olivia’s newfound intense interest in boys, learns to play in a band with strangers, and develops her first crush on a girl: her bandmate, Adeline. Camp Rockaway, with its endless music-related puns and earnest belief in music’s transformative power, provides the perfect setting for Melly to navigate these major life events. Bigelow captures the emotional intensity of camp, where each day stretches long, and relationships can come together and fall apart in seconds. It is Melly’s first-person narration that truly drives the story, always honest and self-reflective, even as she makes mistakes and struggles to understand and express her own feelings. Both fun and substantial, readable and empowering, this novel is a master class in balancing real issues with a light-hearted tone. Bigelow’s compassionate take on the classic middle school topics of family, friendship, and first romance hits all the right notes. VERDICT Highly recommended; a perfect summer read for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jennifer Holm.–Molly Saunders, Homewood Public Library, AL

This review was published in the School Library Journal February 2018 issue.

Share
Diversity and Cultural Competency Training: Collections & RA

Do you want to ensure that your library’s collections are diverse, equitable, inclusive, and well-read?

Do you want to become a more culturally literate librarian and a more effective advocate for your community?

We've developed a foundational online course—with live sessions on February 28 & March 14—that will explore key concepts essential to cultivating and promoting inclusive and equitable collections.
Comment Policy:
  1. Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  2. Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  3. Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through (though some comments with links to multiple URLs are held for spam-check moderation by the system). If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.

We accept clean XHTML in comments, but don't overdo it and please limit the number of links submitted in your comment. For more info, see the full Terms of Use.

Speak Your Mind

*