April 23, 2018

The Advocate's Toolbox

Jon Agee and Mara Rockliff Win Prestigious Bank Street Awards

IrmaBlackSeal_2015 copyThe winners are in: the Center for Children’s Literature (CCL) at Bank Street College of Education has selected It’s Only Stanley, written and illustrated by Jon Agee, for the 2016 Irma Simonton Black Award and Mara Rockliff’s Mesmerized: How Ben Franklin Solved a Mystery That Baffled All of France, illustrated by Iacopo Bruno, for the 2016 Cook Prize.

Determined by children from the United States, Europe, Asia, and the Caribbean, the Irma Black Award distinguishes the best read-aloud picture book for first and second grade, while the Cook Prize goes to the best picture book that illuminates science, technology, engineering, and math principles for third and fourth graders.

cookprize_banner copyBank Street Science Teacher, Morika Tsujimura, who was involved in choosing the initial contenders for the Cook Prize, called Mesmerized “a multilayered book where the steps of the scientific method are incorporated into a re-telling of historical events.”

The finalists for the Irma Black Award were Ragweed’s Farm Dog Handbook, written and illustrated by Anne Vittur Kennedy, You Can Do It, Bert!, written and illustrated by Ole Konnecke, and Red: A Crayon’s Story, written and illustrated by Michael Hall. Finalists for the Cook Prize included Ada Byron Lovelace and the Thinking Machine, written by Laurie Wallmark and illustrated by April Chu, and High Tide for Horseshoe Crabs, written by Lisa Kahn Schnell and illustrated by Alan Marks.

Children's librarian Allie Bruce reads Cook Prize contenders to Bank Street School students.

Children’s librarian Allie Bruce reads Cook prize contenders to Bank Street School students.

The winners and finalists will be honored at a ceremony held in Tabas Auditorium at the Bank Street College of Education in New York City at 9:30 a.m. ET, May 19th. Illustrator Scott Magoon, who shared the 2013 Irma Black Prize with author Michelle Knudsen for Big Mean Mike, will be keynote speaker.