March 24, 2018

The Advocate's Toolbox

2014 National Book Award Longlist Announced for Young People’s Literature

The long list for the National Book Award in the Young People’s Literature category was announced this morning. The list of 10 titles represent a range of genres: from fantasy, memoir and mystery, to nonfiction and science fiction.

The 2014 long list for the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature:longlist_article_version

Laurie Halse Anderson, The Impossible Knife of Memory  (Viking/Penguin)
Gail Giles, Girls Like Us (Candlewick Press)
Carl Hiaasen, Skink—No Surrender (Random House)
Kate Milford, Greenglass House (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
Eliot Schrefer, Threatened (Scholastic)
Steve Sheinkin, The Port Chicago 50: Disaster, Mutiny, and the Fight for Civil Rights (Macmillan) Andrew Smith, 100 Sideways Miles (Simon & Schuster)
John Corey Whaley, Noggin (Simon & Schuster)
Deborah Wiles, Revolution: The Sixties Trilogy, Book Two (Scholastic)
Jacqueline Woodson, Brown Girl Dreaming (Penguin)

The list of finalists will be released October 15 and the winner will be announced at a November 19 ceremony in New York City.

Past winners of the Young People’s Literature category have included: Holes (Farrar, 1998) by Louis Sachar, The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, Vol. 1: The Pox Party (Candlewick, 2010) by M.T. Anderson, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian (Little, Brown, 2007) by Sherman Alexie, and The Thing About Luck (S. & S., 2013) by Cynthia Kadohata.

You also may want to read:

SLJ Reviews and Interviews of 2014 National Book Award Longlist in the Young People’s Category

Empowering Teens: Fostering the Next Generation of Advocates
Teens want to make a difference and become advocates for the things they care about. Librarians working with young people are in a unique position to help them make an impact on their communities and schools. Ignite your thinking and fuel these efforts at your library through this Library Journal online course—April 24 & May 8.