February 24, 2018

The Advocate's Toolbox

Jacqueline Woodson Wins 2014 Empire State Award

woodson pic

Photo by Marty Umans

Adding another award to her long list of accolades, the prolific Brooklyn-based writer Jacqueline Woodson has received the 2014 Empire State Award for Excellence in Literature for Young People. Honoring a “significant body of work in the field of literature for young people,” according to a press announcement, the award is granted to authors living in New York state by the Youth Services Section of the New York Library Association.

Woodson’s many previous honors include a Coretta Scott King Award, three Coretta Scott King Honors, a Caldecott Honor, and three Newbery Honors. Also a two-time National Book Award finalist, Woodson was granted the Margaret  A. Edwards Award for significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature, given by School Library Journal and the Young Adult Library Services Association, in 2006.

Born in Columbus, Ohio, Woodson spent her early years in Greenville, South Carolina, and moved to Brooklyn when she was seven. Her many young adult, middle grade, and picture books include Each Kindness (Penguin, 2012), Beneath a Meth Moon (Penguin, 2012), Feathers, (Putnam, 2007), After Tupac & D Foster (Putnam, 2008), and Miracle’s Boys (Putnam, 2000), which was adapted into a miniseries directed by Spike Lee.

Previous recipients of the Empire State Award, established in 1990, include Maurice Sendak, Madeleine L’Engle, Vera Williams, Donald Crews, Jean Craighead George, Jerry Pinkney, Joseph Bruchac, Linda Sue Park, Laura Vaccaro Seeger, Bruce Coville, and Laurie Halse Anderson.