February 23, 2018

The Advocate's Toolbox

MeeGenius Reading Club; Caldecott Considerations; CA Kid Lit Fest | News Bites

MeeGenius Reading Club
MeeGenius, an any-device digital library for children, has launched its “Reading Club,” which offers unlimited access to 700 classic and original titles for either a $19.99 three-month subscription or a $59.99 annual subscription. The company pledges to donate 10 percent  of all its sales to PBS Kids. Initially launched in 2009, MeeGenius aims to provide a fun way for kids to learn how to read. Each book on the app includes optional “read to me” narration, which highlights each word as it is read aloud to promote kids’ comprehension.

Caldecott Considerations for ALSC
The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) is inviting its members to suggest titles for the 2014 Randolph Caldecott Medal, given to the most distinguished American picture book for children published in the United States during 2013. Recommendations may be sent with full bibliographic information to Chair Marion Rutsch at marionhr@aol.com by December 20, 2013. The award will be announced at the press conference during the ALA Midwinter Meeting in January 2014.

California Kid Lit Festival
Through January 17, registration is now open for the 18th annual Charlotte S. Huck Children’s Literature Festival at the University of Redlands (CA) School of Education, to be held January 24 and 25, 2014.

Featured speakers during the event will include author Candace Fleming, poet Paul Janeczko, author Lois Lowry, illustrator Eric Rohmann, author Alexis O’Neill, publisher/editor Dinah Stevenson, author/illustrator David Wiesner, author/illustrator Eugene Yelchin, and poet Kristine O’Connell George.The event will also feature a live, on-campus theatrical performance of Lois Lowry’s The Giver. A limited number of partial scholarships to the event are available.

ALA’s LIRT Awards
The American Library Association has extended the nomination period for its 2014 Library Instruction Round Table (LIRT) Awards to January 15, 2014. The awards, which recognize excellence in information literacy and instruction, include the Librarian Recognition Award to an individual librarian for her/his contributions to the field, and the Innovation in Instruction Award to a Library that demonstrates innovation in support of information literacy and instruction. Award winners will receive a $1,000 cash award, a plaque, and a $500 travel stipend to be used to attend the ALA Annual Conference. Recipients will be notified no later than February 15, 2014, at ALA Midwinter and honored at the 2014 ALA Annual Conference in Las Vegas, NV, June 26 through July 1, 2014.

Karyn M. Peterson About Karyn M. Peterson

Karyn M. Peterson (kpeterson@mediasourceinc.com) is a former News Editor ofSLJ.