January 21, 2018

The Advocate's Toolbox

SLJ Blogs




Recent Posts:


Sunday Reflections: That Delicate Balance Between Quality Patron Services and Employee Personal Boundaries

Please note: This post will share a bunch of stories of patron interactions in public libraries and no names or locations will be shared. Some of them are stories from friends, social media, and my own. None of them will reveal that communities in which they occurred to help protect all parties involved. The man […]

Calling the Newbery 15 (or more)!

Dear Readers of Heavy Medal, If you would have read all 18 of our long listed titles by February 1st, 2018, please comment below to register for an additional balloting poll that will closely mimic the Newbery Committee voting process. Here are the 18 titles to be voted on by the Heavy Medal Newbery 15 (the number […]

Exclusive Preview: Looney Tunes #241

It’s Saturday morning, so we have some classic Saturday morning cartoon fun for you in this exclusive preview of Looney Tunes #241. When Granny brings her pets to the movies, Sylvester sees the darkened theater as the perfect place for his favorite snack: a bucket of hot buttered Tweety! As if! As usual the fun […]

#ReadForChange: Confronting Racial Injustice with Justyce in Nic Stone’s Dear Martin, a guest post by Marie Marquardt

Teen Librarian Toolbox is excited to be partnering with Marie Marquardt for her #ReadForChange project. Hop on over to this post to learn more about the initiative. Today, she and Nic Stone join us for a conversation about racial injustice and Stone’s phenomenal debut novel, Dear Martin.    It’s so amazing to be living in this time […]

Friday Finds: January 19, 2018

This Week at TLT So, You’ve Just Tweeted That Nobody Uses Public Libraries Anymore . . . YA A to Z: Bullying by Michelle Biwer Penguin Young Readers Showcase and Giveaway Book Review: Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson MakerSpace: DIY Metal Stamping (A metal stamping kit review) Anger, inspiration, and the stories we tell, a […]

Re: verso

SLJ has posted a picture I’ve been hankering to see: the full double-page-spread containing the infamous up-skirting image in The Ultimate Book of Space. It isn’t a great scan of the spread but it makes clear that the picture making the rounds on Twitter was incomplete: what was a pic of some robotic thing lifting the […]

This Week’s Comics: Waking Rose

Mystery and monsters fill up this week’s list of new releases. Bongo Comics sets super sleuth Lisa Simpson loose in the newest Simpson Comics #242. Lion Forge continues their monster series Wrapped Up #4 with some Kaiju-sized monster action, while Marvel Comics’ own Kaiju Kid has his own sleuthing to do in Monsters Unleashed #10. […]

Heavy Medal Finalist – Real Friends

Short List Title:  REAL FRIENDS (Titles on our short list will be included in the live Mock Newbery in Oakland.) In our earlier discussion of REAL FRIENDS, I mentioned that I struggled to evaluate the book using Newbery criteria.  I was stuck on: “The committee is to make its decision primarily on the text.”  With my recent […]

Name That LEGO Book Cover ! (#6)

I used this website to (virtually) create 3 LEGO book covers. They’re listed from least challenging to most challenging – see how many you can name. #1: Answer #2: Answer #3: Answer How’d you do? Previously . . . Name That LEGO Book Cover! (#1) Name That LEGO Book Cover! (#2) Name That LEGO Book Cover! (#3) […]

Morning Notes: Mike Mulligan Dabbing Edition

AUTHORS CORRESPOND VIA TIME MAGAZINE A good test: see if you can get through the next two links without getting misty-eyed. If you can, then unfriend me. Link #1: Matt De La Peña wrote a great piece about the importance of darkness in children’s book for TIME. In it, he mentioned a question he’d like […]

Press Release Fun: Excellence in Graphic Literature Awards Now Accepting Submissions

Hi folks! This is a call for submission for the Excellence in Graphic Literature Awards brought to you by Denver Comic Con and Pop Culture Classroom.    Comics and graphic novels are taking a leading role in driving the circulation of libraries, and students are reading them from pre-K through higher education, in every learning environment […]

Press Release Fun: Excellence in Graphic Literature Awards Now Accepting Submissions

Hi folks! This is a call for submission for the Excellence in Graphic Literature Awards brought to you by Denver Comic Con and Pop Culture Classroom.    Comics and graphic novels are taking a leading role in driving the circulation of libraries, and students are reading them from pre-K through higher education, in every learning environment […]

Heavy Medal Finalist – All’s Faire in Middle School

Long List Title:  ALL’S FAIRE IN MIDDLE SCHOOL (Titles on our long list will be included in our online conversation and balloting, alongside the short list titles.) I’ve been a strong supporter of ALL’S FAIRE IN MIDDLE SCHOOL from the start. I found the plot more compelling, emotionally, than that of REAL FRIENDS, our other […]

Post-It Note Reviews of Elementary and Middle Grade Books

Now that I work in an elementary library, I’m reading a lot more titles for younger readers. Rather than review all of them like I usually do, I’m stealing Karen’s Post-it note review idea and sharing the titles with you that way. It’s been super interesting to me to see what the students (grades K-5) […]

Anger, inspiration, and the stories we tell, a guest post by Marieke Nijkamp

Before I Let Go tells the story of two girls in the arctic heart of Alaska. Two girls who were best friends, who were discovering who they could be, who were each other’s center of gravity. It tells of  grief and ice, of mystery and mental illness. And it was, at least in part, born […]

Pyrite Time Is Here Again!

Yes, you read that right: It’s Pyrite time! In case this is your first rodeo: The Pyrite is Someday’s Mock Printz. Instead of gold, we award fool’s gold — because mock/fool, right? (Puns may be the lowest form of humor to some, but I never met one I didn’t like.) We have no affiliation with […]

MakerSpace: DIY Metal Stamping (A metal stamping kit review)

Jewelry making has been pretty popular in our Teen MakerSpace, and I really wanted to give metal stamping a try. However, the individual components always seemed more expensive then something I wanted to spend just to try something out. Fortunately, I found a complete metal stamping kit at Target for only $24.99, and that seemed […]

Review: ‘Gumby: 50 Shades of Clay’

Gumby: 50 Shades of Clay Writers: Jeff Whitman, Eric Esquivel, Ray Fawkes, and others Artists: Jolyon Yates, Kyle Baker, Veronica Fish and others Papercutz; $8.99 Boomer era animated icon Gumby has returned to comics for the first time in a decade, and, as per his previous comics engagement, what the stop-motion clay hero loses in […]

Book Review: Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson

Publisher’s Book Description: New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E. Lockhart. Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded […]

Heavy Medal Finalist – Orphan Island

Short List Title:  ORPHAN ISLAND (Titles on our short list will be included in the live Mock Newbery in Oakland.) There is maybe no more controversial title on our list, and I really look forward to the discussion of this title, here, and in person in Oakland.  For the purposes of this post, I’m going to […]