Google+

September 1, 2015

Subscribe to SLJ

5 Key eBook Trends for Schools and Districts Going Digital

SLJWebcast_Overdrive2015_Thumbnail_Web

Thursday, September 24th, 2015, 3:00 PM – 4:00 PM ET / 12:00 PM – 1:00 PM PT
Led by OverDrive Director of Education Herb Miller, Ed. M., this webinar will cover how schools and districts are adding digital reading options for the classroom, ways to engage students year round with digital libraries, strategies for incorporating digital titles into ELA programs, and much more!
Register Now!

Meet the Reviewer | John Peters

JohnPeters1

Each month SLJ takes a peek behind the books at the brilliant and passionate librarians who read, evaluate, and review the thousands of books and materials every year. This month we meet longtime reviewer and contributor, John Peters.

SLJ’s Starred Reviews | September 2015

StarsModule_Sep2015

Excellent new titles from Mac Barnett, Emily Jenkins, Mo Willems, M.T. Anderson, and Steve Sheinkin top the August Stars list.

This article was published in School Library Journal's September 2015 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

All American Boys by Jason Reynolds & Brendan Kiely | SLJ Review

AllAmericanBoys_600px

REYNOLDS, Jason & Brendan Kiely. All American Boys. 320p. ebook available. S. & S. Bks. Sept. 2015. Tr $17.99. ISBN 9781481463331.

Gr 8 Up–Rashad Butler is a quiet, artistic teen who hates ROTC but dutifully attends because father insists “there’s no better opportunity for a black boy in this country than to join the army.” He heads to Jerry’s corner store on a Friday night to buy chips, and ends up the victim of unwarranted arrest and police brutality: an event […]

Real World Readers: Attention-Grabbing Titles | Focus On

1508-FocusOn_TN

Loaded with surefire kid appeal, these fiction and nonfiction series are meant to entertain, reinforce skills, and, more importantly, create a lifelong love of reading.

This article was published in School Library Journal's August 2015 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Guinness World Records Asks Kids to Think Big in New Contest

Guinness contest 600

Guinness World Records wants to know what records children would try to set in the next 20 years if they had the chance. The “Records of the Future Challenge” opens today to seven to 12-year-olds and runs through December 1.

Nicola Yoon Spills “Everything, Everything” About Her YA Debut

Nicola-Yoon-Author

SLJ chats with Nicola Yoon, debut author of the YA novel Everything, Everything.

Set the Right Course for Back to School

1509-BacktoSchool-StrongStart-TN

How do you make sure you’re starting your school year on track and in command? School librarians share their best tips.

This article was published in School Library Journal's September 2015 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Infinite in Between by Carolyn Mackler | SLJ Review

InfiniteInBetween

MACKLER, Carolyn. Infinite in Between. 480p. HarperCollins/HarperTeen. Sept. 2015. Tr $17.99. ISBN 9780061731075.

Gr 7 Up–What are the four years spent in high school made up of? Teens tend to focus on the big moments—midterms and finals, homecoming and prom, first dates and first loves. But what about those unexpected battles and victories that truly shape and change them? Mackler follows five young adults from freshman orientation to senior graduation. Jake, Zoe, Whitney, Gregor, and Mia all have their own expectations […]

Hot Read-Alikes for “Maze Runner” and “Mockingjay” Film Fans | Media Mania

Dove Arising

As teens wait for the release of the second Maze Runner and Mockingjay Part 2 films, hand them these thrilling sci-fi read-alikes.