Google+

September 3, 2015

Subscribe to SLJ

Book Review: Violent Ends

Publisher’s description: In a one-of-a-kind collaboration, seventeen of the most recognizable YA writers—including Shaun David Hutchinson, Neal and Brendan Shusterman, and Beth Revis—come together to share the viewpoints of a group of students affected by a school shooting. It took only twenty-two minutes for Kirby Matheson to exit his car, march onto the school grounds, […]

Accessible Reads for Struggling and Reluctant Readers | Hi-Lo Roundup

1509-Hi-Low-TN

The SLJ review editors round up a selection of the latest hi-lo (high interest, low reading level) titles for middle to high school students.

This article was published in School Library Journal's September 2015 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Teens Review the Latest from Erin Bow, Gary Schmidt, and More

SLJTeenReviews_ErinBowetc

The reviewers of the Kitsap (WA) Regional Library YA Book Group laud upcoming titles by Erin Bow, Gary Schmidt, A.S. King, and others for their diversity, heartrending twists, and thought-provoking endings.

Teen craft cabinet essentials

When I began hosting craft programs at the library, I wondered how people could possibly talk about crafts as an inexpensive activity. Everything cost money! Even many “cheap” crafts don’t come cheap if you don’t have any supplies stored up. Case in point: Poetry Month favorite, blackout poetry. Use your damaged and discarded books and newspapers and […]

5 Second Reviews by The Teen

The Teen keeps stealing ARCs from my TBR pile so I told her she had to review them, which works really well because I like knowing what actual teen readers have to say about teen books. However, this is the “review” she left me. So obviously we have to work on writing better reviews. Though […]

Book Review: Out of Darkness by Ashley Hope Perez

Publisher’s description: “This is East Texas, and there’s lines. Lines you cross, lines you don’t cross. That clear?” New London, Texas. 1937. Naomi Smith and Wash Fullerton know about the lines in East Texas as well as anyone. They know the signs that mark them. They know the people who enforce them. But there are […]

Nicola Yoon Spills “Everything, Everything” About Her YA Debut

Nicola-Yoon-Author

SLJ chats with Nicola Yoon, debut author of the YA novel Everything, Everything.

Middle Grade Monday: There’s always next year: Things I’ve learned coordinating middle school volunteers (a guest post)

Our library has two different volunteer programs that I have run for two years now. One is offered for two hours a week, five week sessions, four times during the school year; four weeks of work, the last week is an appreciation party. Registration is maxed at ten. They gather as a group, and act […]

Set the Right Course for Back to School

1509-BacktoSchool-StrongStart-TN

How do you make sure you’re starting your school year on track and in command? School librarians share their best tips.

This article was published in School Library Journal's September 2015 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Infinite in Between by Carolyn Mackler | SLJ Review

InfiniteInBetween

MACKLER, Carolyn. Infinite in Between. 480p. HarperCollins/HarperTeen. Sept. 2015. Tr $17.99. ISBN 9780061731075.

Gr 7 Up–What are the four years spent in high school made up of? Teens tend to focus on the big moments—midterms and finals, homecoming and prom, first dates and first loves. But what about those unexpected battles and victories that truly shape and change them? Mackler follows five young adults from freshman orientation to senior graduation. Jake, Zoe, Whitney, Gregor, and Mia all have their own expectations […]

Hot Read-Alikes for “Maze Runner” and “Mockingjay” Film Fans | Media Mania

Dove Arising

As teens wait for the release of the second Maze Runner and Mockingjay Part 2 films, hand them these thrilling sci-fi read-alikes.

The #MHYALit Discussion Hub – Mental Health in Young Adult Literature

After our first year of the #SVYALit Project, we decided that we at TLT liked the way the format worked and wanted to use it to discuss other topics of relevance to the life of teens. One of the ideas we discussed was using the format to discuss mental health issues in the life of […]

“Librarians are how libraries speak.”

I’ve had a deep, abiding love for the writing of Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, ever since she introduced the world to Beyonce, the giant metal chicken, and now it turns out she loves me too. And you. And you.  (It’s a few weeks old, but read it now if you haven’t yet.) Makes your heart […]

Friday Finds – August 28, 2015

This Week at TLT Sunday Reflections: Today, I am Pooh Bear (reflections on depression in the life of tweens and teens part 2) Middle Grade Monday Book Review – School for Sidekicks by Kelly McCullough Book Review: Bright Lights, Dark Nights by Stephen Emond August #ARCParty All the Dragons in the World – The Depiction […]

Six Back-to-School Goals for Teacher Librarians | Tech Tidbits

SLJTeen_Back2School_TN

Librarians can jump-start the school year by setting some essential goals. Here, teacher librarian Phil Goerner tackles his top six objectives and lays out a plan for achieving these goals, which range from creating new maker space projects to engaging teachers in professional development.

Book Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

I loved this book, it is indeed everything, everything! But even more telling is The Teen’s reaction to this book. She finished reading it yesterday and then immediately started reading it again. She left for school today carrying the book in her hand. She used words like “perfect”, “amazing”, and “beautiful” to describe Everything, Everything, […]

SPONSORED: Stars for Kat Spears’s “Breakaway”!

Breakaway

St. Martin’s Griffin presents advance readers e-galleys of librarian Kat Spears’s sophomore novel, Breakaway, which has already garnered several starred reviews.

“Honor Girl” Graphic Novelist Maggie Thrash on Identity and Girls’ Spaces

Photo by Nico Carver

SLJ caught up with debut author Maggie Thrash, whose graphic memoir Honor Girl focuses on an experience she had at summer camp when she was 15. Thrash shared how she went from comics newbie to full-fledged author, described the challenges of writing a memoir, and emphasized the importance of all-girl’s spaces.

Reflections of Reality: Foster Teens and Orphans in Young Adult Science Fiction, a guest post by Kerry Sutherland

In 2013, there were 510,000 American children in foster care. 40% of foster children are between the ages of 13 and 21 years old. 9% of foster care teens will age out of the foster care system and are more likely to experience homelessness. You can find more Foster Care Statitics and follow a link […]

Review from This Month’s School Library Journal: Drowned City: Hurricane Katrina and New Orleans by Don Brown

When I’m reviewing books for professional publications, I stay quiet about them on social media. I’m always really excited once a review comes out to be able to talk about the book, finally! Here’s one of my most recent reviews, which originally appeared in the August 2015 issue of School Library Journal.   BROWN, Don. Drowned City: Hurricane […]