Google+

January 29, 2015

Subscribe to SLJ

Girl Power, High Fantasy, and Unconventional Lit | What’s Hot in YA

1501-Fic9up-Dayton

Highly illustrated novels, out-of-the-ordinary narratives, and titles with female leads and fascinating world-building are just some of the YA books that are on SLJ editors’ radar. See what else is trending in teen lit.

Chattanooga (TN) Public Library Launches Online High School Diploma Program for Adults

COHSGale

Chattanooga (TN) Public Library, in partnership with Gale/Cengage Learning, is giving its patrons the opportunity to earn an accredited high school diploma and credentialed career certificate via the Career Online High School program.

“Teen Services Underground” Debuts; Books for a Brighter Tomorrow Grants | SLJTeen News

shortandtragic

Make room for the just launched “Teen Services Underground” blog, which aims to advocate for teen services. School libraries serving economically disadvantaged students will want to take a look at Sony Pictures/NEA’s Books for a Brighter Tomorrow grants program. Review copies of The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace are now available.

Creating a School Library Makerspace: The Beginning of a Journey | Tech Tidbits

spheroball

After chasing down the funding, and getting input from colleagues and adviser, Phil Goerner is about to launch a makerspace focused on the basics—with room to grow—in Silver Creek (CO) High School’s library.

Sponsored Content: Join Macmillan Library (Adult & Griffin Teen) @ ALA Midwinter 2015!

Talia ali pic for book buzz

We just finished packing up 102 boxes of galleys and posters for all you ALA Midwinter-going librarians! Visit us in booth #4613 for your complimentary copies. And don’t forget to put our lunchtime Saturday ALA Book Buzz on your calendar.

Bewitching Readalikes for Joseph Delaney’s “The Last Apprentice” in Honor of “Seventh Son” Film

seventhsonmovie

Another reader-favorite young adult book series makes its big-screen debut on February 6. Based on Joseph Delaney’s “The Last Apprentice” adventure/fantasy series, Seventh Son is set during a time of enchantment, when supernatural evil threatens all of humankind.

Circle the Globe with Jack Berenson; Get a Lift from Adobe Through Development Grants | SLJTeen News

jack at the helm

While lots of tweens pine for excitement in their lives, Jack Berenson just wants a normal childhood. Enter to win all of the “Berenson Schemes” titles, and while you’re at it, apply for software and development grants from Adobe.

2014 Cybils Award Finalists Announced

Through the Woods

SLJTeen takes a look at the young adult CYBILS finalists in nonfiction, graphic novels, fiction and speculative fiction. You’ll find a few surprises along with some already popular award contenders.

Sponsored Content: Get Ready for Winter with New Titles from Griffin Teen

tunnel vision

Get your free It’s All the Rage poster from Macmillan now, and check out these new titles from Griffin Teen that are guaranteed to give young adult readers the shivers!

From the Bell Tower to the City Gates, Teens Review Titles by Kristen Simmons, Jennifer Niven, and More

All the bright places

Our teen reviewers offer up a big dose of contemporary coming-of-age fiction, with just a dash of dystopia. The featured titles touch on teen suicide, PTSD, sexism, mental illness, and more.

Collaboration Leads to Top-notch STEM Programming at the Library

Forensics with the Denver Museum of Nature and Science, December 2013

Electrocuting pickles at the library?! This was one of the many demonstrations on light brought to the Mamie Doud Eisenhower Public Library through collaboration with the library’s own Science Task Force and the University of Colorado-Boulder.

Interview: Ilyasah Shabazz and Kekla Magoon on their YA Novel About Teenage Malcolm X

X A Novel

Malcolm X’s daughter Ilyasah Shabazz collaborated with young adult author Kekla Magoon on a historical fiction novel about the civil rights leader’s formative years. SLJ caught up with the pair to discuss their writing process, inspiration, and the lasting impact of Malcolm’s legacy.

And the Winners Are: Teen Lit Award Contenders │ JLG’s Booktalks to Go

popular

With the American Library Association Midwinter meeting just weeks away, all eyes turn to lists of the best releases of 2014. Water cooler conversations and social media heat up with passionate discussion of fan favorites. Who will be the winners of the coveted prizes?

Sponsored: ALA Midwinter Book Buzz Smack Down

Talia ali pic for book buzz

Talia “The Terror” Sherer (St. Martin’s Griffin) and Ali “The Alien” Fisher (Tor Teen & Starscape) have confirmed that the rumors are true—they’re back in action for a one-time-only no-holds-barred reunion book buzz.

IMLS Innovation Funding; Bewitching Giveaway; A Wicked Deal for “The Devil’s Intern” | SLJTeen News

one witch at a time

Encouraging innovation is one thing—paying for it is quite another. A Sparks! Ignition grant from IMLS would provide an excellent start in the creation of a new service or tool to implement at your library. Witch and devil fan alert: free books inside for the lucky and the speedy.

Outlining and Note-taking with Diigo | Tech Tidbits from the Guybrarian

diigo logo

Students don’t always want to spend time creating a good outline when embarking on a research project, but as educators, we know it’s an important building block. Diigo, a free web-based outlining and note-taking tool, can help them create a solid foundation.

School and Public Libraries Collaborate to Help Teen Community: Reports from the Field

litworks_2014_logo

In big and small ways, collaboration is a way of life for many school and public libraries. From teen book festivals to maker space initiatives, they are working together to bring new services and programs to their young adults.

Betrayals, Battles, and Bilbo Baggins | “The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies” Review

eh_141216_hobbit

The final installment of Peter Jackson’s expansive (some might say bloated) adaptation of J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit begins immediately right where The Desolation of Smaug left off, leaving those coming in cold to fumble in the dark.

Books to Increase Awareness of the Cycles of Poverty, Race, and Incarceration

lionheart

By listening to the voices of those who have experienced racism, time in prison, and life on the streets, readers of these titles can begin to learn how to break the cycle, and be inspired by those have.

Teens Review the Latest from Holly Black, Novelized Bio of Malcolm X, and More

Darkest Part of the Fores

Teens share their thoughts about upcoming YA books that feature faeries, whales, and pickup lines along with a fictionalized account of the life of Malcolm X.